Monday, January 24, 2022

Power ministry organises painting competition

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Dec 08, 2021 11:38 pm
Neepco officials and winners of the painting competition pose for a photograph after the event in Kohima on Wednesday. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent

Kohima, Dec. 8 (EMN): As part of the national campaign to conserve energy, the ministry of Power under the government of India, conducted a state level painting competition at Hotel Eastgate in Kohima on Wednesday. 

The event was organised by the North Eastern Electric Power Corporation Limited, Doyang Hydro Power Station.

The director of School Education, Wonthungo Tsopoe, who was the chief guest, called upon the public towards conserving energy saying that everyone has a role to play. Describing the competition as an opportunity for the students to expose their talents, he urged the organisers to make it an annual event for greater participation.

Asserting that education is an all round development of a child and not confined to the four walls, he told the children to make their learning practical.

In category A (classes 5, 6, 7), Vivan Poddar from Hope Academy School, Dimapur, emerged as the winner and won a cash prize of INR 50,000 with certificate, while Seyiesinuo Yhome from Little Flower Higher Secondary School secured the 1st runner-up and won INR 30,000 and Imkongsenla from Little Star Higher Secondary School secured the 2nd runner-up.

Consolation prizes were also awarded to Besüvelu Tinyi, Siedzelenuo Sachü, Deborah Shitri, Arpita Dey, Masuma Yasmin, Amongsen Evan Yanthan, Nilika Swu, Shrishant Debnath, Vellensolo Chang and Temsurenla Ao.

In Category B (classes 8, 9, 10), Delphi Oinam from Hope Academy School, Dimapur, secured the first position, while Michael Yanthan from St. Mary Higher Secondary School, Dimapur, and Victor D Sangma from VKV Doyang secured the second and third positions respectively. They were awarded with certificate and cash award of INR 50,000, 30,000 and 20,000 respectively.

Consolation prizes were also awarded to Kevilhunyu Nakhro, Bhamri Hazarika, Benry B Odyuo, Atou Chüsü, Rokoletuo Peseyie, Mhajan S Ezung, Zaara Abdul, Smiti Topno, Yimyanglula Longkumer and Mhayani R Kikon.

Meanwhile, Kalyan Barman, head of Doyang Hydro Power Station, informed that the winners would represent the state at the national level competition.

Around 62 students participated in the competition.

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Dec 08, 2021 11:38:19 pm