Philately Club launched at Children’s Christian School – Eastern Mirror
Friday, December 08, 2023

Philately Club launched at Children’s Christian School

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Jun 22, 2022 9:58 pm
Joy Justin Bongchar, Sharon Losu and other members of the school management committee, teachers and students on Wednesday.

Our Correspondent
Kohima, June 22 (EMN): For the first time in Nagaland, a philately club was launched at Children’s Christian School in Kohima during a philately workshop and re-launch of Deen Dayal Sparsh Yojana (DDSY) held at the school premises on Wednesday.

In a programme attended by the officials from the postal department, members of school management, teachers and students, Joy Justin Bongchar, assistant superintendent of Posts, Kohima sub-division, handed over the certificate of recognition to Stephen Theyo, headmaster of Children’s Christian School.

In his speech, Joy Justin Bongchar congratulated the school for becoming the first school to have a philately club and also gave an introduction on philately, its significance and history besides enlightening the students on how to collect stamps.

Sharon Losu, Nagaland in-charge of philately, spoke on Dee Dayal Sparsh Yojana- a scholarship for promotion of aptitude and research in stamps as a hobby. He informed that the scheme proposed to award scholarships to those who have academic record and also pursue philately as a hobby. Under the scheme, students from classes 6 to 9 would receive a cash award of INR 6000 per annum.

She maintained that the department of post is endeavouring to promote philately among school children, society and community as whole.

“Owing to Covid pandemic, the Dee Dayal Sparsh Yojana was kept on halt. But with the improvement of the situation, it has also been re-launch,” informed Losu. While explaining the guidelines for the scholarship, she stated that a student has either been a part of a philately club in the school or has a philately account. In order to avail the scholarship, she further informed that a student has to participate in a written quiz and also prepare a project on philately.

The programme was chaired by Penlung Manpen, wherein she gave an introduction of the school. She informed that the school was established in 1967 by Rano Mese Shaiza, the first woman Member of Parliament (MP) from Nagaland, and her husband Lungshim Shaiza. Manpen added that the school is committed to promote education for all Nagas and nurturing young minds to become contributing members of the society.

The vote of thanks was proposed by Stephen Theyo, while a prayer was offered by Aziebu Shaiza, a member of the school management committee.

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Jun 22, 2022 9:58:37 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS