Nagaland Start Santosh Trophy Campaign With Win Over UP - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, July 18, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Nagaland start Santosh Trophy campaign with win over UP

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Dec 28, 2022 11:07 pm
Santosh Trophy from Thejoto photo
Nagaland team after their win against Uttar Pradesh in the Santosh Trophy at Kokrajhar, Assam, on Wednesday.

Our Correspondent
Kohima, Dec. 28 (EMN):
Nagaland defeated Uttar Pradesh by a solitary goal on Wednesday to kick-start their Santosh Trophy campaign at Kokrajhar, Assam.

Clubbed in the Group III with Goa, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and Arunachal Pradesh, the home team played their first match against Uttar Pradesh in the ongoing 76th National Football Championship for Hero Santosh Trophy 2022-23.

Kevisanyü Peseyie headed the lone goal through a corner from Kakhevi N Assumi in the 76th minute.

The first half saw both teams trying to break the deadlock and though the UP players dominated the field, goalkeeper Neithovilie Chalieu saved the blushes for his teammates by his spectacular saves.

In the second half, Nagaland started on an attacking mode and finally made a breakthrough through a corner kick from their swift winger Assumi, which Peseyie made no mistake to convert into a goal with a superb header.

Nagaland will play four more matches with Goa, Assam, Tamil Nadu and Arunachal Pradesh. The matches for group three of the Santosh Trophy will be played from December 28 to January 5, 2023, as per the All India Football Federation.

The senior National Football Championships will be played in a new format that will see the 36 states divided into six groups.

The toppers of the six groups, along with three best second-placed teams, will qualify for the final rounds. Railways and Services have already confirmed direct entry along with the hosts.

Nagaland team is led by Mughato Aye as coach, Akhihito P Zhimo (team manager) and Zakieletuo Seletsu (physio).

The playing squad includes Sinenlo Kath (captain), Neithovilie Chalieu and Homuka Yeptho (goalkeepers), Hekato Aye (defender), Hemping Khiamniungan (defender), Liang T Khiamniungan (defender), Benrithung Humtsoe (defender), Sanyem Konyak (defender), Ito Ayemi (defender), Katoho Chishi (defender), Lironthung Lotha (defender), Toka A Achumi (midfielder), Kuvezo Vero (midfielder), Victor Haotinmang Thomsong (midfielder), Sinenlo Kath (midfielder), Visalie Mezhü (midfielder), Kevisanyü Peseyie (midfielder), Pursunep Longkumer (forward), Laloureiyang Panmei (forward), Kakhevi N Assumi (forward), Haileuyibe Iranggau (forward) and, Yhoto Lohe (forward).

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Dec 28, 2022 11:07:57 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS