Nagaland Police Recognises Meritorious Personnel - Eastern Mirror
Friday, June 21, 2024

Nagaland Police recognises meritorious personnel

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Jan 21, 2022 11:57 pm
Thejoto photo
T John Lonkumer with other police officers and recipients of out-of-turn promotion on in Kohima on Friday. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent
Kohima, Jan. 21 (EMN): Recognising its meritorious personnel, the Nagaland Police organised out-of-turn promotion and DGP Nagaland Commendation Award Ceremony at the Police Headquarters in Kohima, on Friday.

Director General of Police (DGP), Nagaland, T John Longkumer congratulated the recipients of out-of-turn promotion and DGP Nagaland Commendation Disc, saying that they set an example for the state police through their dedication and sincerity while performing their duties for the people.

“Your commendable effort and dedication to your duty reflect how well-trained and equipped we are in every field, whether it be in operational duty or law and order-related issues or any other,” he said.

Maintaining that it takes lot of dedication and determination to achieve an assignment, Longkumer said the ceremony is a message that hard work will be rewarded.

The DGP also asserted that the nation is working on fighting illegal smuggling and narcotics, and Nagaland cannot be left behind. Stating that the recent crackdowns speak of the state police’s credibility in the eyes of the people, the government and political leadership, he urged the personnel to work unitedly and sincerely.

Assuring to reward those performing their assigned duties well with strict discipline, as per the laid down criteria of the department, the top cop urged the police personnel to work efficiently and maintain law and order.

Nine personnel promoted

Roopa M, DIG (CID/HR&SJ), gave the background note on the ‘out-of-turn promotion’ being given to nine police personnel in recognition of their performance at Narcotic Check Point, Khuzama from September 29 to October 4 in 2022, wherein they detected and seized 46 soap cases of heroin weighing 552 gram and worth INR 1.5 crore on October 2 and arrested the persons involved.

The same team also detected and seized 12 packets of opium weighing approx 12 kg worth INR 1.2 crore. In another incident, they detected and seized 290 gold bars weighing 48.14 kg worth INR 23.10 crore and packed in 29 packets. They also seized INR 2 lakh, 13 SIM cards and a vehicle on October 3 and arrested the persons involved. It was also informed that seizure of gold bars by the team was the largest seizure not only in Nagaland state but also in the entire country.

‘The presence of mind, attentiveness and dedication towards the assigned work by the entire team is commendable. The exemplary work of the team fulfilled the criteria for out-of-turn promotion as laid down in section C (iii) of the Office Memorandum dated July 30, 2018 which states ‘arrest of gangs of property-criminals with recovery of properties worth INR 1 crore and above. Hence, the board recommended for out-of-turn promotion to all the nine members of the team and the same was approved by the competent authority,’ said Roopa.

The police officers and personnel of Narcotic Police Station under IGP (CID) PHQ who were promoted to the next higher rank were: ASI Zasilie; Hav Abemo Ezung; Hav Y Wilson Patton; NK Zhovio Kotso; UBC Limayanger; UBC Ralanbemo; Constable Chingyom CM Konyak; Constable Tayongmeren Ao; and Constable Vilavotuo Suokhrie.

DGP Commendation Disc recipients

As many as 14 police officers and personnel were awarded with the DGP Commendation Disc at the event and the citation was read out by M Rhovisie Nyuwi, AIGP (Adm).

The recipients of ‘DGP Nagaland Commendation Disc’ were: Sonia Singh, IPS, IGP (IR Bn), Nagaland; Dr. Pritpal Kaur Batra, IPS, SP Noklak; Lydia Tungoe, Steno attached to AIGP (Ops) PHQ; Michael Angami, Typist PHQ;  ABI Imliri Ao (STF);) Hav John O Tsopoe (STF); Hav Khenito Wotsa (STF); Hav Kh. Ramesh Singh (STF); Hav Hoto Sumi (STF); Hav N. Hokato Sumi (STF); Naik Mudozhoyi (STF); C/N Yanbemo (STF); C/N Nanwang Konyak (STF), and C/N Y. Nyanbemo Kikon (STF).

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Jan 21, 2022 11:57:33 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS