225 candidates file nominations for 60 Nagaland Legislative Assembly seats - 1 Eastern Mirror The latest and breaking news from Nagaland, northeast India, India and the world. Current affairs and news of politics from around the world, latest updates on business news, sports, arts and entertainment March 24, 2023
Friday, March 24, 2023

225 candidates file nominations for 60 Nagaland Legislative Assembly seats

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Feb 07, 2023 11:44 pm
File photo of Moatoshi Longkumer with supporters after filing his nomination papers on Monday.

As many as 225 candidates have filed their papers for the upcoming general election to the 14th Nagaland Legislative Assembly as Tuesday marked the last day for filing nominations.

According to the data furnished by the Chief Electoral Office (CEO) Nagaland, Mon district received the highest number of nominations with 39 candidates in the fray for the poll, which is scheduled on February 27.

Candidates from 13 political parties — Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Bharatiya Janata Party, Naga People’s Front, Indian National Congress, Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), National People’s Party, Janata Dal (United), Republican Party of India (Athawale), Nationalist Congress Party, Rising People’s Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal — including 21 Independent candidates – filed their nominations for the election.

On the last day of filing nominations, 102 candidates including president of Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee, K Therie, filed their papers.

In terms of district-wise candidates, Dimapur with three constituencies have 14 candidates; Peren has 10 candidates for two constituencies; Kohima 19 candidates for six constituencies; Pughoboto two candidates; Phek 19 candidates for five constituencies; Mokokchung 32 candidates for 10 constituencies; Zunheboto 13 candidates for six constituencies; Wokha 18 candidates for four constituencies; Mon 39 candidates for nine constituencies; Longleng 10 candidates for two constituencies; Tuensang 14 candidates for four constituencies; Kiphire nine candidates for two constituencies; Noklak six candidates for two constituencies; Tseminyu seven candidates; Chümoukedima nine candidates for two constituencies; and Shamatore four candidates.

Meanwhile, RJD candidate from Dimapur-I Assembly Constituency, Kiyazhe Shohe, on Tuesday, withdrew his candidature to the 14th NLA citing “internal family problem”.

“Inconvenience caused due to my change of decision is regretted,” he conveyed.

It may be mentioned that scrutiny of nominations will be done on Wednesday (February 8) and February 10 will be last day for withdrawal of candidature.

Also read: NDPP-BJP alliance will form next Nagaland government, says Rio

By Thejoto Nienu Updated: Feb 07, 2023 11:44:59 pm