Manipur Observes National Voters’ Day - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, February 22, 2024

Manipur observes National Voters’ Day

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Jan 25, 2024 11:32 pm

IMPHAL — Manipur observed the 14th National Voters’ Day at the Lamphelpat office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Manipur, on Thursday on the theme ‘Nothing like voting, I vote for sure.’

The state chief secretary, Dr. Vineet Joshi; additional chief secretary, MH Khan; and chief electoral officer of Manipur, Pradeep Kumar Jha, attended the event.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Vineet Joshi encouraged the new voters to cast their vote in a free, fair and peaceful manner. He also administered the oath of National Voters’ Day pledge to the gathering.

MH Khan informed that the constitution has given the right to elect their leader.

“If we do not choose the correct leader, our future will be spoiled,” he said and appealed to the voters to exercise their rights wisely.

Meanwhile, PK Jha said National Voters Day is the celebration of voters especially for the first-time voters and added that it is the rights bestowed by the constitution.

Appreciating the district election officers, returning officers, BLOs and other officials for successful conduct of electoral summary revision 2023-24, he stated that a survey was conducted in partnership with Manipur Technical University regarding knowledge, aptitude and practices of election.

The message of Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC), Rajiv Kumar, was screened during the function, which was followed by presentation of EPIC card and badges to the newly enrolled voters.

Appreciation certificates and best electoral practices awards 2024 were conferred to district election officers, electoral registration officers, returning officers for their exemplary performances.

National Voters’ Day is observed to promote and encourage the youth to participate in the voter registration especially among new or first-time voters. The day is celebrated every on January 25 since 2011 across the country to mark the foundation day of the Election Commission of India, which was formed on January 25, 1950.

Also read: National Voters’ Day observed across Nagaland

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Jan 25, 2024 11:32:26 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS