Chakhesang Wrestling Association Championship today - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, April 01, 2023
Nagaland Sports

Chakhesang Wrestling Association Championship today

By EMN Updated: Feb 10, 2022 12:01 am
Ongoing preparations for the upcoming CWA wrestling meet to be held on Thursday in Pfutsero.

Kohima, Feb. 9 (EMN): The much awaited Chakhesang Wrestling Association (CWA) championship 2022, will commence today at Pfutsero Sports Complex, with a total of 60 wrestlers vying for the coveted title in the senior category and 20 junior wrestlers in the Under-16 category.

The championship is being hosted by Secheku Wrestling Association (SWA) and managed by Sakraba Youth Organisation. 

Champions of the respective areas namely Venuzo Dawhuo of Chokri Area Wrestling Association (CAWA), Nuzosa Nyekha of Chozuba Range Wrestling Association (CRWA), Reka Mero of  Kezha-Kuzha Tephe Sports Association (KKTSA), Vekutho Soho of Phek Area Wrestling Association (PAWA), and Huluyi D Vadeo of Secheku Wrestling Association(SWA) are all set to get into the arena for CWA championship title.

Also, other prominent wrestlers that are making headway to the arena are Pfusato Tetseo, Vetüzo Dawhuo, Vetazo Veswu, Kubere Nyekha, Surhoneyi Soho and many other upcoming wrestlers.

The champion will walk home with a cash prize of INR 2,00,000 along with Late Chosanyi Rose memorial running championship belt. The second, third and fourth positions will receive INR 1,50,000, INR 100,000 and INR 80,000 respectively. The losing quarterfinalists will also receive INR 10,000 each for the senior category.  

In the Under-16 category, the champion will get INR 30000, second will receive INR 20000, third INR 15000, fourth INR 10000 and losing quarterfinalists INR 5000 each. 

It may be mentioned that Venuzo Dawhuo of Thenyizumi village is currently the two times defending champion of CWA, winning the title in 2018 and 2020. 

The referees for the championship are Chisazo Dawhuo, Hükhoneyi Soho, Hüvesü Puro,Vekhriyi Chüzho, Lhuvenü Phesao, Zehoto Kikhi, Keneingulie Nagi, Zacuta Puro, Pozoto Shijoh. Jury board includes Kope Kronu, Rüdasa Cürhah and Kukhoto Venyo. 

Meanwhile, Nagaland’s Minister for Planning and Coordination, Land Revenue and Parliamentary Affairs 

Neiba Kronu will attend the occasion as special guest while MLA Kezhienyi Khalo will be the guest of honour.  The inaugural programme will begin at 9 am followed by player’s introduction, and lighting of championship torch by Chakhesang Public Organisation president Vezühü Keyho, while the torch bearer will be reigning champ Venuzo Dawhuo. 

The organising committee has appealed to all the spectators to strictly follow the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) and follow all directives of the government for the safety and welfare of the public.

By EMN Updated: Feb 10, 2022 12:01:28 am