Wokha Administration Organises Walkathon - Eastern Mirror
Monday, May 20, 2024
Nagaland, Wokha

Wokha administration organises walkathon

By EMN Updated: Apr 12, 2024 11:02 pm
Ajit Kumar Rajan along with the participants during a walkathon in Wokha town on Friday.

DIMAPUR — As part of Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) activities and with an aim to create awareness and encourage voters to come forward and cast their vote, the Wokha district administration organised a walkathon in Wokha town on Friday.

The event, which began at Police Point and concluded at NST junction, saw participation of students, teachers and officials from different schools and departments within Wokha district, stated a DIPR report.

Speaking at the event, the deputy commissioner (DC) and district election officer (DEO) of Wokha, Ajit Kumar Rajan, lauded the students for their active participation. He stated that elections represent the core values of democracy opened to all citizens and encouraged enthusiastic and voluntary engagement.

While underscoring the need for transparent and ethical practices, he further called upon everyone to take part in the electoral process.

The sub-divisional officer (Civil) and SVEEP nodal officer of Wokha, NuhutaTunyi, informed that the event was organised as part of the SVEEP initiative in preparation for the upcoming Lok Sabha election. He stated that the primary goal of the programme was to raise awareness on the significance of elections and to ensure high voter turnout.

He informed that it serves as a platform to educate and inspire new voters and students about their rights. He further encouraged the younger generation to exercise their voting rights and contribute to societal change by selecting the most suitable candidate.

Later, the results of the essay and slogan writing competitions held on April 5 at Libemo Memorial School in Wokha were announced.

In the high school category, Areni T Kikon of class 9 won the first position, while Lireni M Ngullie of class 9 and Lumchamo S Khuvung of class 10 won the second and third positions respectively.

In the higher secondary category, Epibeni Humtsoe of class 12 secured the first position, while Tahara Begam of class 12 and Mhachoni Ngullie of Class 12 won the second and third positions respectively.

By EMN Updated: Apr 12, 2024 11:02:21 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS