Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Winner of Nagaland Futsal Championship to participate in AIFF Hero Futsal Club Championship

By Imrongkumba Aier Updated: Oct 22, 2021 11:01 pm
Players of Telongjem FC after winning the recently concluded Nagaland Futsal Championship 2021 in September at Dimapur.

Our Correspondent

Mokokchung, October 22 (EMN): Telongjem FC from Mokokchung, winner of the Nagaland Futsal Championship 2021, held in Sept. will be participating in the first edition of All India Football Federation (AIFF) Hero Futsal Club Championship 2021-22 scheduled to be held from Dec. 5 to the 13th at Delhi.

This was informed by Telongjem FC Coach Tiakumzuk in a press conference at Just A Venue. A thirteen-members contingent comprising ten players and supporting staff will embark to Delhi on  Nov. 1 to participate in the National event, said the Club officials.

The opportunity of lifting the Nagaland Futsal Championship 2021 paved way for the club to compete in the National event, said the officials

The Telongjem FC is one of the clubs out of 16 clubs throughout the country to be invited by AIFF to compete for the coveted tournament.

The team thanked both MDFA and NFA for their guidance and support, especially NFA for registering the players in the AIFF CRS. They said that Telongjem FC is a bonafide Club under Mokokchung District Football Association and it’s a privilege and honour for a local club to receive invitation from AIFF to represent the state and compete at National event- Hero Futsal Club Championship.

Stating that participating in a national event will no doubt incur financial expenses, they said, ‘Of course, AIFF will be providing a nominal amount. However, a huge chunk of the finance will be bored by the club alone. Therefore, we appeal the state government to extend their support with financial assistance, which will encourage the athletes and sporting clubs in Nagaland’.

The officials further added that that the players are all pumped-up and excited to go give their best performance in the national-level tournament.

The team includes — Team manager, Tongpangmayang Kichu, Team Coach, Tiakumzuk, and players — Bapen Yimjong, Laloureiyang, Maongtoshi Imsong, Nighatu T Sumi, Pursunep, Sentimeren Ao, Kakhevi Assumi, Khiuwangbo Kaurinta, Imkongwati and Moasunep

By Imrongkumba Aier Updated: Oct 22, 2021 11:01:13 pm