Friday, December 02, 2022

Winds of Change? Naga Council’s new leadership has ardent change-seekers.

By EMN Updated: Feb 26, 2015 11:43 pm

Dimapur, February 26

Weak community leaderships and an even weaker political posturing have for years reduced a once progressive state of Nagaland and her public into the current state of affairs.
Nonetheless, if the recent elections to one of the state’s most prominent community organizations, the Naga Council of Dimapur, are anything to consider all hopes for reformation might not be lost as yet. The new team of the Naga Council who has been handed the mantle of working for the people include fiery social and people’s rights activists. The new leadership includes members who worked with the popular anti-corruption movement the Against Corruption and Illegal Taxation (ACAUT). The new leadership comes amid unprecedented social unrest, corruption, political instability and violence and a deteriorated public administrative apparatus in the so-called “Christian” state of Nagaland.
The selection committee of the Naga Council of Dimapur has instated a new team of office bearers for the term 2015– 2020. Five leaders form the core leadership of the public organization. Interestingly, this time around there was no elections. The organization explained that elections to community leadership position have often been ‘divisive.’ Therefore, the Naga Council said on February 26, a committee was formed to find and select leaders.
“Naga Council, as representative of matured leaders resolved that election has so far proved divisive for Naga society, therefore, it decided to form a selection committee entrusted with selecting leaders who would be capable of leading Naga Council in particular and Nagas in general,” a press release issued by the organization stated on Thursday. The new team comprises T Bangerloba as president again, K Ghokheto Chophy and DP Angami as vice presidents, Joel Nillo Naga as general secretary, Tsapongkyu Sangtam and Runlel Nelson as joint secretaries, and Chingden Konyak as finance secretary and Treasurer.
A simple ceremony was conducted in the Unity Hall of the Naga Council on February 26 in Dimapur where the new team was formally instated. President of the Dimapur Baptist Pastors’ Forum Rev.Dr. Weyiete Lohe dedicated the new team.
The new Naga Council president, continuing into his third term as member of the council’s leadership, exhorted the new team to rededicate themselves to the welfare of the Naga people. He called upon all the leaders to “sacrifice their time, give their wisdom and wealth, and speak the truth in this mission.”
Bangerloba also said it was imperative for the Naga Council to work together with other civil organizations, such as the Naga Women’s Hoho of Dimapur, Dimapur Urban Colony Council Chairmen, Dimapur Chamber of Industry & Commerce, Business Association of Nagas, GBs’ organizations and the Dimapur Naga Students’ Union and the ACAUT of Nagaland. The council must work with them to bring about peace and changes in Naga society,’ he said.
The newly-instated president also said that coordinating with the deputy commissioner of the district, superintendent of police, and the Dimapur Municipal Council was important to bringing ‘visible changes’ in Dimapur. The change of guard ceremony would be conducted on March 7.

By EMN Updated: Feb 26, 2015 11:43:25 pm