Friday, July 01, 2022

Western Sumi Sports Association meet concludes

By EMN Updated: Dec 17, 2018 10:31 pm
The captain of Shokhuvi team receiving the champions trophy after the final match at K. Hetoi village on Dec. 15.

Dimapur, Dec. 17 (EMN): The Western Sumi Sports Association (WSSA) and 20th M.B.E Zhuikhu Memorial Football Trophy annual sports meet culminated on Dec. 15 at K. Hetoi village under Niuland sub-division. In an update received here on Monday, Akihito Zhimomi, president, Sumi Games and Sports Association attended the four-day event as the guest of honor.
In his speech, Akihito exhorted the sportsmen and women not to simply play sports just for the sake of playing but set their life mark and achieve it through sports. The guest of honour reminded that in today’s generation education and sports has become duo in pursing their life goal therefore one shouldn’t abandon their studies for the sake of any sports. Furthermore, he said not to dispose their talents without any benefit but continue to maintain God given talent with sports discipline which includes taking care of one’s own health.

The final match was played between Shokhuvi team from Aqhahuto Area and P. Vizheto Team from Niuland Area. The match ended in a goalless draw as both the team failed to score in the stipulated time. Eventually Shokhuvi team emerged as the champion after beating the opponents 3-0 in penalty shootout. The winner walked away with a trophy and cash prize of INR 75000 whereas the runners-up team received INR 50000 and trophy.

Winners’ category and individual awards

Badminton women

Winner: Nikhekhu team

Runners-up: Vihokhu team

Badminton men

Winner: Highway Area Sumi Sports Association team

Runners-up: Phukato team

Volleyball women

Winner: Hezulho team

Runners-up: K. Hetoi team

Volleyball men

Winner: Vikuho team

Runners up: Kikheyi team

Football men

Winner: Shokhuvi team (Aqhahuto Area)

Runners-up: P. Vizheto team (Niuland Area)

Badminton best player

Women: Rosy Zhimo (Nikhekhu team)

Men: Veto Ayemi (Pukhato team)

Volleyball best player

Women: MughapuSwu (Ghowoto team)

Men: NisukaAssumi (Vikuho team)

Football men

Best player: Tokugha Yeptho (P. Vizheto team)

Best goalkeeper: Avika Sumi (Shokhuvi team)

Highest score: Kakhevi Sumi (P. Vizheto team)

Hat-trick: Heboto Chophi (K. Hetoi team)

Discipline: Nikhekhu team

By EMN Updated: Dec 17, 2018 10:31:46 pm