Friday, December 03, 2021

Villages oppose Dikhu hydro project

By EMN Updated: Feb 23, 2014 11:20 pm

Dimapur, February 23

Five village councils of Yongnyah area namely Yongnyah, Nyang (Nian) Yongam, Yongshei and Tangha including the newly created villages of Chingong and Shemshangching have reaffirmed the oppose construction of Dikhu hydro project.
The decision to this effect was taken during the joint meeting of the five village councils in Yongnyaj village on February 10. During the meeting, the house reviewed the representations, memorandums and ultimatum submitted to the government of their opposition against construction of the hydro project.
The house also accepted the resignation of its former convenor Longjeih Phom and replaced by Hamyong Phom as its convenor along with all the village council chairmen as executive committee members.
Further, the house has reminded the State government, Department of Power and M/s Manu Energy System Pvt Ltd to see into the public grievances and to immediately stop the construction work.

By EMN Updated: Feb 23, 2014 11:20:03 pm