Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Urban station inaugurated in Chessore town

By EMN Updated: Jan 07, 2018 11:13 pm
R Tohanba and officials from the district administration and public leaders after inaugurating the urban station at Chessore town. 

Dimapur, Jan. 7 (EMN):
The advisor for Labour & Employment, Skill Development & Entrepreneurship R Tohanba has inaugurated an urban station at Chessore town on Jan. 5, updates on Sun. informed.

Addressing a public gathering after the inauguration, Tohanba said that the urban stations were declared in 2016 in accordance with section-5 of the Nagaland Municipal Act of 2001.

With the inauguration of urban station, the politicians was quoted as having said, citizens of Chessore town now have the opportunity to ‘run their own town in terms of development of trade and business, town management and sanitation.’ He said that the urban station was a novel experiment about ‘how the citizens can run and manage their own towns with the supervision and guidance of district administration.’

Although members of the urban bodies would be nominated and not elected, Tohanba said, their responsibilities would be in a way similar to that of elected members of town councils ‘as they have to formulate rules and regulations on business and trade license, sanitation and other developmental aspects.’ He expressed optimism that the urban stations would go a long way in fulfilling the aspirations for urban facilities of citizens living in smaller towns in Nagaland.

The extra assistant commissioner (EAC) of Shamator Limakhumla Pongener said that the urban stations would take care of the developmental aspects of towns with a population ranging in 1,000 to 5,000. She said that the stations would be headed by an sub division officer (civil) in the respective town as chairperson; nominated members would include public leaders, elders and others.

The EAC also informed that earlier, the government of Nagaland had issued a notification dated Aug. 17 2016 as per section-5 of the Nagaland Municipal Act of 2001 declaring Tzudikong, Chuchuyimlang, Athibung, Yisemong and Chessore, as urban station committee areas.

By EMN Updated: Jan 07, 2018 11:13:53 pm