Friday, December 03, 2021

TRUGPU lifts CC Meet trophy

By EMN Updated: Jan 14, 2015 11:16 pm

Our Correspondent
IMPHAL, January 14

Bishnupur district based Tiddim Road Unique Gamy Players Union (TRUGPU) lifted the 58th Sir Churachand Singh, KCSI, CBE Memorial Football tournament 2014 at Khuman Lampak Main Stadium in Imphal on January 14 by defeating Imphal based Tiddim Road Athletic Union (TRAU) 3-1 in the final match.
State Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh along with Speaker Th Lokeshwar, MLA Y Surchandra, Manipur government’s consultant RK Nimai and Managing Director of Babina Diagnostics and Hospitality Dr Th Dhabali and other functionaries of All Manipur Football association also witnessed the match.Speaking on the occasion, Manipur Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh said, “My dream and the dream of the Manipuri are to make the state a real power house of all game and sports. I am indeed elated to see out sportspersons inching towards the goal.”
He also said, “I dare say that these tournaments have been responsible for improving the skills of our footballers. Manipur is known to be inhabited by lovers of games and sports where they love football above all.”
It may be noted that last year’s runners up TRAU had entered the final of the tournament also known as CC Meet after defeating its rival team Manipur police sports club (MPSC) in a tie break (3-1).
Similarly TRUGPU Nambol also defeated ARC (Assam Regimental Centre) Shillong by 2-1 in their semi final, to enter the finals of the tournament.
Satish, Bembem named best footballers of year
Kh Satish Singh of North Eastern Re-organising and Cultural Association and O Bembem of Manipur Police Sports Club have been awarded the footballers of the year by All Manipur Football Association (AMFA).
The awards were given during the closing function of the 58th Sir Churachand, KCSI, CBE Memorial Football Tournament 2014 today at Khuman Lampak main stadium in Imphal.
Tiddim Road Unique Gamy Players Union (TRUGPU) emerged champions by defeating last year runner up team Tiddim Road Athletic Union (TRAU) by 3-1 in the final match. Man of the final match title was awarded to Y Inao of MPSC. Y Suraj was awarded the best goal keeper title while the best player was awarded to Kh Jackey of TRUGPU.
Zomi Football Club, Churachanpur bagged the fair play trophy of the tournament, Th Kiran of MPSC won the top scorer trophy, A Herojit of TRAU bagged the best defender, L Bikram of TRAU the best mid-fielder, L Sanatomba of TRUGPU was awarded the best Striker and Ch Anandkumar of TRUGPU was the youngest player of the tournament. T Ibomcha of USA bagged the best coach and I Rabichandra bagged the best referee of the tournament.

By EMN Updated: Jan 14, 2015 11:16:26 pm