Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Titans clinch 5th Master Shield Trophy championship

By Imrongkumba Aier Updated: Feb 16, 2021 11:18 pm

Winner of the 5th Master Shield Trophy 2021, Titans team pose for a group photograph after the final match at Imkongmeren Sports Complex on February 16. (EM Images)

Our Correspondent
Mokokchung, Feb. 16 (EMN):  Titans overcame the defending champion Trebuchet by 64 runs in the final match to clinch the 5th Master Shield Trophy 2021 title at Imkongmeren Sports Complex on February 16.

Electing to bat first, Skipper Neehal, who has been one of Titan’s top performers in the tournament, scored 62 runs (not out) as Titan’s side were limited to 165/7 in their stipulated quota of 20 overs. The other Titan batsmen fell cheaply and only Shamphri managed to hit some good runs as he made 28.

The opener of Titan, Lanusanen, started the inning with a boundary but was clean-bowled by Trebuchet bowler who walks out for 4 runs in 2 balls in the first over.

With two more wickets down in 43 runs, the entry of Titan Skipper Neehal in the 7 overs strengthened the score rate for Titan.  By the 12 overs, Titan was on 80/4 but unfortunate struck again when Trebuchet took another vital batman out of the field in the 13 over.

Nevertheless, Titans, who got a good batsmen line-up on its sheaf, introduced it’s an all-rounder Longsasunep who made a steady score recovery in partnership with its skipper Neehal consolidating 138 runs for their team position.

But the partnership was cut short when Longsasunep exited for a run out in the 18 overs. Skipper Neehal continued to press on till the last over, but Trebuchet managed to collect its last wicket via run-out in the last ball. The inning ended with an impressive score of 165/7 in 20 overs. 

In reply, Trebuchet suffered a heavy blow when its top batsmen were picked in the 4th and 5th overs. The batting order completely collapsed when Merenti snatched away two maiden wickets in the 9 over. The hopes were all but dashed for the defending champion when they lost wickets in regular interval.  By the 16 overs, Trebuchets were in deep crises with 101/9 and finally lost the last wicket in 16.2 over failing short of 64 runs.

Individual prize winners

Man of the match: Neehal Titans

Most Promising Player: Imtinuksang of Sovran

Best Bowler: Barudeka of Trebuchet

Best batsman: Daniel of Skylark

Man of the series: Neehal of Titan

Best Discipline Team: United XI Mongchen

By Imrongkumba Aier Updated: Feb 16, 2021 11:18:54 pm