Tuesday, December 07, 2021

Three qualify to contest LS seat

By EMN Updated: Mar 24, 2014 11:50 pm

Principal Correspondent

ALL three candidates have qualified following successful scrutiny for election to the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland.
Official sources in the State Returning Officer’s office said all the documents of Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio for ruling Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF), former Minister KV Pusa for Congress (INC) and Akhie Achumi for Socialist Party (India) were found correct and they are qualified to contest the ensuing election.With Pusa’s scrutiny going through the candidature of former Lok Sabha MP W. Wangyuh Konyak got dropped automatically, official sources said.
The last date of withdrawal of candidature is March 26 (Wednesday) while voting would be held on April 9.
Meanwhile, with the state assembly sessions in progress none of the political parties officially launched the election campaign even as internal politicking heated up.
For a taste of the battle ahead for the lone Lok Sabha seat NPF kicks-off its official campaign at DDSC Grounds, Dimapur on March 27, the same day Congress kicks off its campaign in Kohima with the visit of Cngress vice president Rahul Gandhi.
Campaigning for the third candidate Akhie Achumi could not be ascertained.

By EMN Updated: Mar 24, 2014 11:50:06 pm