Tuesday, October 04, 2022

Three Nagaland students trained by ISRO scientist

By Our Correspondent Updated: Jun 04, 2019 12:35 am
Kemesanuo Rio receiving a medal from ISRO Chairman K. Sivan at the Young Scientist Programme.

Dimapur, June 3 (EMN)
: Three students from Nagaland participated in the Young Scientist Programme or Yuva Vigyani Karyakram (YuViKa), a special residential training programme for school children launched by the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

Three students from each Indian state and Union Territories participated and got trained by ISRO scientist at the Young Scientist Programme, and the students selected from Nagaland for the event were Kemesanuo Rio from Saint John’s High School, Diphupar- B, Abhimanyum P Deshmuk and Eyilobeni T Lotha from JNV, Chukitong.

More than 100 students from across the country participated in the programme held from May 13 to 25th, according to an update received on Monday.

Young Scientist Programme was primarily aimed at imparting basic knowledge on space technology, space science and space application to the young children with the intent of arousing their interest in the emerging areas of space activities. It also seeks to inculcate scientific temper in students.

During the two-week course curriculum (YuViKa -2019), the students were provided with course material which was already pre-loaded on their tablets. It included science topics like Rocket Engineering, Environment Science, Astronomy, Space Application, Renewable Energy and also soft skill improvement modules like leadership, team work, communication etc. The programme also covered invited talks and experience shared by the eminent scientists, facility and lab visits, hands on training, exclusive session with experts and a feedback session, according to the press release.

The residential training programme was held at four ISRO centres, and the students from Nagaland along with some other states attended the programme at North Eastern Space Application Centre (NESAC), Shillong. The students from all the states then met at Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC), Sriharikota.

KC Bhattacharya former Director, NESAC taught the students about the history of Indian satellite- types and parts, while Dr Cherla Raja Mouli helped the students in developing their personality.

ISRO chairman Dr K. Sivan gave away the medals to all the participants on being selected and representing their states for the programme.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Jun 04, 2019 12:35:19 am