Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Nagaland Sports

T-20 Cricket Gold Cup: B S Sports, Team Supernova, AMT Sports win

By EMN Updated: Mar 05, 2020 11:38 pm
One of the winners of the man of the match seen here in the picture.

Dimapur, March 5 (EMN): Three teams — B S Sports, Team Supernova and AMT Sports – won their respective matches on day-five of the 2nd Sovima T-20 Cricket Gold Cup at Nagaland Cricket Ground Sovima on Thursday.

An update from the Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA) informed that MVS Cricket Academy won the toss and put B S Sports to bat first in the opening match of the day. B S Sports put up a total of 153 for loss of five wickets in the stipulated 20 overs with Lucky Chauhan contributing 51 runs from 37 balls and Mukul Sharma, 38 runs from 21 balls.

MVS Cricket Academy’s bowling attack was led by Rio (surname not provided), who took two wickets, giving away 20 runs from his four-hour spell.

Chasing 153 runs, MVS Cricket Academy succumbed to pressure as they were bowled out for just 99 runs in 19.3 overs, thus conceding defeat to B S Sports by 54 runs.

Arun Hamrol (22 runs from 28 balls) and Kunal Gupta (32 runs from 22 balls) were the top scorers for MVS Cricket Academy while Chiranjivi Gupta and Madhav took three wickets apiece for B S Sports, ripping through the batting line-up of their opponents and scripting a win for their team.

Chiranjivi Gupta was declared the Man of the match for this three-wicket haul and giving away just nine runs from four overs spell.

In the second match of the day, Team Supernova defeated My Cricket Club by six wiskets.

After winning the toss, My Cricket Club elected to bat first but managed to score only 76 runs as they were bowled out in 17.1 overs. Swarupam Purkaystha scored 26 runs from 27 balls and Jay Savaliya made 14 runs from 27 balls for My Cricket Club, while Swarupam Purkaystha and Sibshankar Roy took three wickets each for Team Supernova.

Chasing a low total, Team Supernova scored 77 runs for loss of four wickets to beat My Cricket Club with 54 balls to spare. Swarupam Purkaystha (47 runs from 34 balls) and Sibshankar Roy (15 runs from 18 balls) were the main contributors for Team Supernova, while My Cricket Club’s bowling attack was led by Abhi Patel with three wickets.

Swarupam Purkaystha was declared the Man of the match for his contribution 47 runs (not out) and three-wicket haul.

In the third and final match of the day, PSA CC won the toss and elected to field.

Put to bat first, AMT Sports put up a total of 123 for loss of eight wickets in the stipulated 20 overs with Bhavik Patel scoring 40 runs from 23 balls and Ashish Dhanani scoring 29 runs from 32 balls. Karan Rana took three wickets from his four-over spell for PSACC.

The target looked achievable but PSA CC couldn’t capitalise on their wickets, managing to score only 100 runs from loss of seven wickets in 20 overs, thus conceding defeat to AMT Sports by 23 runs.

Vibhu Paswan (26 runs from 36 balls) was the leading scorer for PSA CC, while Bhavik Patel took four wickets, giving away just 18 runs from his four-over spell.

Patel,whoc scored 40 runs and took four wickets for AMT Sports, was declared the Man of the match.

Today’s matches
1st match 8.15 am: AMT Sports vs Hanse Brothers CC
2nd match 11.45 am: PSA CC vs Professional CC
3rd match: MVS Cricket academy vs Team Supernova

By EMN Updated: Mar 05, 2020 11:38:00 pm