Friday, January 28, 2022

Syed Mustaq Ali T20 Trophy: Nagaland beat Manipur

By EMN Updated: Jan 20, 2021 12:17 am
Nagaland cricket team. (Source: NCA)

Dimapur, Jan. 19 (EMN): Nagaland defeated Manipur by eight wickets in the final match of the league stages (Plate Group) on Tuesday, at the ongoing Syed Mustaq Ali T20 Trophy 2020-21.

Manipur chose to bat first after winning the toss and put up a total of 129 runs in the allotted 20 overs for loss of eight wickets, according to an update from Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA).

Langlongyamba (50 runs) and Nitesh (37 runs) were the main contributors for Manipur, while Nagaland’s bowling attack was led by Stuart Binny, who took three wickets, while Nagaho, Hokaito and Hem took one wicket apiece.

Chasing a decent total, Nagaland managed to reach the target in 17.1 overs, scoring 131 runs for loss of two wickets.

Chetan Bist contributed 60 runs and SS Mundhe, 36 runs not out, for Nagaland, which Denin and Ajay Singh took one wicket each for Manipur.

Nagaland is the only state from the Northeast that has won all the matches plays in the league stages (Plate Group) of the trophy. However, Bihar that won all their matches qualified for the next round from the plate Group as Nagaland had to share points in its match against Chandigarh that was washed out.

By EMN Updated: Jan 20, 2021 12:17:08 am