Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: UP Thrash Nagaland By 87 Runs - Eastern Mirror
Monday, April 22, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: UP thrash Nagaland by 87 runs

By EMN Updated: Oct 22, 2023 6:49 pm
Nagaland players during their match against Uttar Pradesh at Abhimanyu Cricket Academy, Dehradun.

DIMAPUR — Uttar Pradesh piled up a massive 188 runs target for Nagaland in the stipulated 20 overs with Rinku Singh scoring a brilliant 58 runs knock in 34 balls, which was studded with four 4’s and three 6’s.

The match was played on October 21 at Abhimanyu Cricket Academy, Dehradun, stated an update from Nagaland Cricket Association.

Abhishek Goswami (36 runs), Nitish Rana (32 runs), Sameer Rizvi (26 runs) and Shiva Singh (18 runs) were the other notable run scorers for the UP team.

For the Nagaland bowling unit, Karan Tewatiya, looked good and managed to scalp two wickets early on, but in his last over Rinku Singh took him for an agonising 27 runs.

Khrievitso Kense, who scalped two wickets in four overs, was the star performer for Nagaland as he picked up the dangerous duo of Nitish Rana and Abishek Goswami and was also engaged in the crucial run out of Sameer Rizvi.

In the run chase, it was a disappointment for Nagaland as they could manage to put up only 100 runs on the board.

The two openers Joshua Ben Ozukum (15 runs) and Sedezhalie Rupreo (18 runs) looked good in the beginning and were able to deliver a couple of boundaries.

However it was Prashant Veer, the impact player for Uttar Pradesh, who had a memorable outing picking up 3 wickets in 3 overs, conceding only 7 runs and delivering 14 dot balls with an economy rate of 2.33.

Jonathan Rongsen (15 runs) wicket’s was crucial as he was dismissed for LBW for what could have been a very close call. Later Jaganath Sinivas fought on scoring 31 runs off 17 balls but it was a little too late.

Nagaland will next play Karnataka on October 23at Maharana Pratap College ground, Dehradun.

Also read: Wriddhiman Saha leads Tripura to tense win over Nagaland

By EMN Updated: Oct 22, 2023 6:49:14 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS