Six journalists of Manipur awarded for Climate Change reporting - Eastern Mirror
Monday, June 05, 2023

Six journalists of Manipur awarded for Climate Change reporting

By Our Correspondent Updated: Jun 01, 2019 11:37 pm
Dr. Y Nabahandra (2nd from right) speaking at the media consultative workshop in Imphal on Saturday (EM Images)

Our Correspondent

Imphal, June 1 (EMN): Six journalists of Manipur were awarded the first ever State-Level Media Fellowship Programme on Climate Change Reporting for the year 2018-19 during a consultative media workshop in Imphal on Saturday.

The journalists who received the awards were Laishram Shamungou Singh of The Sangai Express, Pouguilung Kamei of All India Radio, Mungchan Zimik of The Sangai Express, Kshetri Meghajit of Naharolgi Thoudang, Babie Shirin of Imphal Free Press, and Th Premchand of Impact TV.

The awardees will receive a sum of INR 50,000 in instalment basis to support their travel and research activities.

The first installment was handed over to the journalists during the workshop held at the newly developed conference hall of Directorate of Environment.

“With the distribution of the first state-level media fellowship programme on Climate Change reporting, Manipur become the first state to launch such kind of initiative among all the Himalayan mountain systems in the country,” said the Directorate of Environment.

The studies to be conducted by the journalists are expected to be incorporated in the second version of the state action plan on Climate Change.

Director of Environment department Dr Y Nabachandra, Imphal Free Press Editor Pradip Phanjoubam, senior journalists Salam Rajesh and Sobhapati Samom along with the department officials attended the consultative meet.

It may be mentioned the Directorate of Environment had formally launched the media fellowship programme in presence of forest and environment minister Th Shyamkumar on March 7 this year.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Jun 01, 2019 11:37:21 pm