Sunday, August 14, 2022

Several NPF units dissolved, join NDPP

By EMN Updated: May 05, 2022 10:00 pm

Dimapur, May 5 (EMN): In another setback for the Naga People’s Front (NPF) party, various NPF units including 28 Wokha assembly constituency, 13 Pughoboto assembly constituency, and the 52 Longkhim-Chare assembly constituency have resigned en-masse and joined the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). The moves came close on the heels of 21 Naga People’s Front (NPF) legislators’ defection to the NDPP.

The 38 Wokha AC parent body and women wing held an emergency meeting on May 2 and unanimously decided to resign en mass from the NPF party to support MLA Dr. Chumben Murry.

This was jointly stated by the president of NPF 38 Wokha AC, Yiben Tungoe, and the president of women wing, Lothungbeni Humtose.

In a related development, the NPF of 13 Pughoboto AC along with the central office bearers from Pughoboto sub-division, in its meeting on May 5, resolved to dissolve the unit to demonstrate its support to MLA Y Vikheho Swu.

The unit working president, N Hetoi Kappo, and the president, Kughakhu Sheqi, stated that the erstwhile members of NPF have further resolved to join the NDPP en masse to strengthen the leadership of Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio, and the party president, Chingwang Konyak.

Meanwhile, the office bearers of 52 Longkhim-Chare AC NPF party held a meeting on May 4 at Longkhim and resolved to dissolve all the organs of the NPF party in the constituency and resign from the primary and active membership of the party.

The resignation was initiated to support the MLA Muthingnyuba Sangtam and to strengthen the functioning of the NDPP under the leadership of Nagaland Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio.

NPF Phek affirms support to party

Phek division of the Naga People’s Front (NPF) and the central office bearers from Phek division have unanimously resolved to support the party under the leadership of its president, Dr. Shühozelie Liezietsu, and the leader of NPF legislature wing, Kuzholuzo Nienu.

The resolution to this effect was taken during a coordination meeting held on May 5 at the NPF central office in Kohima, stated an update from the press secretary of NPF Phek division, Vekhopra Khamu.

The division expressed its appreciation and gratitude to the four NPF MLAs namely Kuzholuzo Nienu, Dr. Ngangshi K Ao, Khriehu Liezietsu and Kezhienyi Khalo and all the 14 NPF divisions except Peren division for standing firm and steadfast to the party’s principles and ideology.

The division also expressed gratitude to the party president, Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu, for appointing Kuzholuzo Nieno as the leader of the NPF legislature wing. The division further expressed gratitude to the Chief Minister for appointing MLA K Khalo as chairman of DPDB Phek.

By EMN Updated: May 05, 2022 10:00:20 pm