Senior Men’s Cricket Tourney: Tseminyu, Mokokchung, Kohima Win - Eastern Mirror
Friday, June 14, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Senior men’s cricket tourney: Tseminyu, Mokokchung, Kohima win

By EMN Updated: May 24, 2023 9:01 pm

DIMAPUR: On day-3 of the senior men’s inter-district tournament, the first match was played between Tseminyu and Zunheboto at Nagaland Cricket Stadium.

After being sent in to bat first, Zunheboto did not have a great start as both their opening batsmen got out cheaply. Thejasilie (19 runs) and Hauto (22 runs) steadied the innings but it was the blade of Kavi Yeptho (44 runs not out) which enabled Zunheboto to pose a competitive target of 144 in 30 overs for Tseminyu to chase. Nuntilo scalped three wickets, Monu took two wickets while Ntsenlo and Henry Kent took one wicket each for the Tseminyu side to restrict Zunheboto total at 143/9 at the completion of 30 overs.

In the run chase, Tseminyu started off on a positive note as the opening batsman shared a 55 runs partnership with Alok Sharma scoring 53 runs and Potouzo Kent contributing with 13 runs. It ultimately started looking like an easy sail for Tseminyu but Kavi Yeps who took five wickets in four overs and Zunheboto’s captain Hopito Assumi (three wickets) had other plans as they dismantled the batting line up of Tseminyu. Monu Kumar made a crucial 22 runs during the carnage to help his team’s total. However it was Henry Kent (21 runs not out) and Shasinlo Kent (nine runs not out) who took the Tseminyu team home from a close encounter and won it by two wickets in 25.4 overs.

Man of the match was awarded to Monu Kumar for his crucial 22 runs knock and 2 wickets claim.

In the second match, Mokokchung won the toss and opted to bat first. With a captain’s knock of 85 runs from Vijay Rai and duly supported by Champo 51 runs, Nripen Rai 32 runs, Nihal Rai 15 runs and 11 runs from Menchet Pongen, Mokokchung went on its way to produce an imposing target of 226 runs for Phek to win it. Viza was the pick of the Phek bowlers with two wickets while Suzuto and Porato claimed one wicket each.

With a mountain of a challenge awaiting the Phek team in the run chase with 226 runs required for the win, the batsmen could not withstand the pressure and went all out for just 34 runs in 13.5 overs. Longsasunep gave a dazzling performance for the Mokokchung bowling unit as he picked up six wickets in 3.5 overs giving away only 10 runs. Odilemba Kichu, Temsulong, Basant and Nihal Rai all shared a wicket each to pull the curtains down for the Phek team and won the match by an astounding 192 runs.

Man of the Match was awarded to Longsasunep for his six wickets haul.

At Sovima Cricket Ground, after winning the toss and electing to bat first, Kohima started off brilliantly with Imomenba silencing the naysayers with a brilliant 97 runs knock in 81 balls. Hikato 13 runs and Zipa 65 runs also made important contributions for Kohima to impose a mammoth total of 204 runs losing five wickets for Mon to chase for a win. Shamwang Wangnao was the pick of the Mon bowlers striking three wickets while Phaknyu Konyak and Pangnyei got a wicket each.

In the run chase, Mon got off to a calm start with Shamwang Wangnao scoring 24 runs and Ahon Konyak with 17 runs however after their dismissal the stormy bowling attack of Kohima hit the Mon team hard as Sepichem and Kelhousilie combined to take four wickets each for the team and Samuel Zaputou claimed two wickets to dismantle the batting line up of Mon which succumbed to 65 runs (all out) in 18.4 overs making Kohima win by a margin of 139 runs.

Man of the match was awarded to Imomenba Walling for his 97 run knock.

May 25

Nagaland Cricket Stadium

  • 8 am: Niuland vs Phek
  • 12:30 pm: Longleng vs Kohima

Sovima Cricket Ground

  • 8 am: Wokha vs Mon
  • 12:30 pm: Dimapur vs Tseminyu
By EMN Updated: May 24, 2023 9:01:03 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS