Senior men's cricket tourney: Niuland qualifies for semi-finals; Kohima, Wokha, Dimapur advance - Eastern Mirror
Monday, May 29, 2023
Nagaland Sports

Senior men’s cricket tourney: Niuland qualifies for semi-finals; Kohima, Wokha, Dimapur advance

By EMN Updated: May 25, 2023 10:08 pm

Dimapur: On day-four of the Senior men’s Inter-district tournament, the first match was played between Niuland and Phek at Nagaland Cricket Stadium.

In a one-sided match, Niuland displayed total dominance and won over Phek by 207 runs. After winning the toss and electing to bat first, Niuland made the highest total of the tournament so far by setting up 282 runs in 30 overs losing only four wickets. Afzal Hussain (20 runs), Vishal Sahani (32 runs)  and Wahid Ali (63 runs) gave the most perfect start for the Niuland team.

However it was the blistering knock of Hokaito Zhimomi who made 122 runs (not out) in 77 balls which was studded with 17 boundaries (4s) and two huge sixes that propelled the team’s imposing score. Zhimomi was well supported at the other end by Jalal Uddin who contributed 15 runs and remained not out. Lawrence Vero, the captain of Phek team, fought back picking up two wickets but could not find support from the other bowlers except for a consolation wicket from Deto Rhakho.

Requiring 283 runs in 180 balls for a win, Phek succumbed to another high pressure game once again as all their batsmen failed to rise up to the occasion. The only fight was provided by Deto Rhakho with 23 runs but it was not enough for a win. Vino G Zhimomi led the charge for Niuland as he scalped four wickets while Akavi A Yeptho and Anil Gupta settled for two wickets making Phek all out in 21.4 overs for just 75 runs and winning the game by 207 runs.

Hokaito Zhimomi was adjudged the man of the match for his 122 runs knock in 77 balls.

In another close encounter, Kohima overcame Longleng to win by two wickets at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima.

Winning the toss, Longleng opted to bat first and managed to put up 92 runs on the board losing all wickets in 24.4 overs. Moakumzuk (18 runs), Watimeren (10), Mungkham (23), Arjun Kumar Yadav (10), Chingnung (15) were the notable run scorers for Longleng. Sepichem together with Kelhousilie claimed three wickets, Samuel Zaputou took two wickets while Khriesavituo and Seyievizo pocketed one wicket each for Kohima.

In the run chase, Imomenba Walling continued from where he left the last game and made a fine 21 runs score along with his opening batting partner Hemavi Aye, who also made 16 runs. However it was the tailenders in the form of the two brothers Khriesavituo Solo (six runs) and Thejasetuo Solo (eight runs) who withstood the crucial moment of the game, remained not out and played sensible cricket to bring it home for the Kohima camp and winning it by a close margin of two wickets. For Kohima to qualify in the semi-finals they’ll have to wait for the match played tomorrow between Longleng and Wokha.

Kelhousilie was awarded the man of the match for his three wickets haul in 5.4 overs.

At Sovima Cricket Ground, Wokha opted to bat first after winning the toss and managed to pile up 150 runs on the scoreboard losing nine wickets in 30 overs with contributions from Nzanthung Mozhui 13 runs), Renjamo Y Mozhui (36 runs), Rendemo Mozhui (38 runs) and 19 runs coming from Nchumbemo Kikon. Chingkap Konyak took charge for the bowlers as he single-handedly picked up seven wickets for the Mon side thus restricting the target to a manageable 150 for his side to chase.

Mon got off to a shaky start as they lost three of their top order batsmen cheaply but Shamwang Wangnao (64 runs) and Ahon Konyak (29 runs) made some worthy contributions to take up the challenge. Later, Phaknyu Konyak also made 14 runs however they still fell short of the target and lost to Wokha by five runs. For Wokha, bowling unit Renchio Odyuo and Romokhon Humtsoe took two wickets each while Bonthungo Murry and Sulanthung Kithan picked up one wicket each for Wokha to win a close contest.

Wokha’s Renchio Odyuo was named the man of the match.

 Meanwhile, in the second match between Tseminyu and Dimapur, with the heat swelling up and the temperature not showing mercy it was a decisive toss to win. The defending champions Dimapur won the toss and their plan to bat first was well executed as their batsman made a solid start with Shamphri Terang making 37 runs, Joshua Ben Ozukum 30 runs, Hem Bahadur Chetri 44 runs, Temjentoshi Jamir 21 runs, Tohuka Zhimo 24 and Santosh Mahato 15 runs all contributing for Dimapur to pose a convincing total of 191 runs to defend. Nuntilo continued his fine bowling performance as he claimed three wickets while Ntsenlo, Henry and Monu settled with two wickets each to make Dimapur all out in 24.1 overs.

Coming for the run chase, Tseminyu had a big task ahead, having to chase a big total of 192 runs for a win. The brother duo of Potouzo Kent (43 runs) and Kepesilie Kent (23 runs) combined to give the team a solid headstart but eventually with the growing run rate they perished when trying to go out for a big hit.

Ntsenlo Semp (22 runs) and Monu (11 runs), who both remained not out, were the other notable run getters for the Tseminyu Team.

With a star-studded bowling line up, Dimapur restricted Tseminyu with only 125 runs on the board taking out four wickets and winning the match by 66 runs. Tohuka Zhimo took two wickets while Renben and Santosh settled for one wicket each.

Man of the match was adjudged to Tohuka Zhimo for his 24 runs knock and two wickets for Dimapur.

May 26

Nagaland Cricket Stadium

  • 8 am : Chumoukedima vs Peren
  • 12:30 pm: Mokokchung vs Kiphire

Sovima Cricket Ground

  • 8 am: Wokha vs Longleng
By EMN Updated: May 25, 2023 10:08:07 pm