Senior Men’s Cricket Tourney: Niuland, Longleng, Kiphire, Tuengsang Advance - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, June 12, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Senior men’s cricket tourney: Niuland, Longleng, Kiphire, Tuengsang advance

By EMN Updated: May 23, 2023 9:28 pm
NCA photo

DIMAPUR: In the first match of the senior men’s inter-district cricket tournament played at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium on Tuesday, Team Mokokchung after having won the toss opted to bat first and managed to put up a total of 97 runs on the board losing all wickets in 25 overs.

Akavi A Yeptho, who was later adjudged the man of the match, delivered it for Niuland as he scalped four wickets in six overs with one maiden over and conceded only 17 runs. Sunil Sharma was the other pick of the bowlers for Niuland as he also managed to take three wickets in five overs for Niuland. Hokaito, Jalal and Vino G Zhimomi also took one wicket each to restrict the Mokokchung tally. For the Mokokchung side, Champo (27 runs) and Nripen Rai (11 runs) were the only batsmen who managed to score double digits.

Niuland got off to a great start as their openers Afzal Hussain (21 runs) and Vishal Sahani (29 runs) laid the foundation for the run chase. Vijay Rai took two wickets while Longsasunep and Nihal Rai took one wicket each to put up some resistance for Mokokchung but Inakato Zhimomi 10 runs and Jalal 11 runs who remained not out and steered their Niuland team innings for a comfortable win by six wickets in 18.1 overs.

In the second match, Longleng triumphed over Mon by four wickets in what has been the most interesting finish so far in the senior men’s tournament.

After winning the toss, Mon opted to bat first and it started as a catastrophe as their top four order batsmen perished in quick succession without troubling the scorers. However with the entry of Ahon Konyak to the crease, a ray of hope emerged and he made a spirited half century with 52 runs on the board to help his team post a competitive total of 131 runs in 27.2 overs. Shamwang Wangnao (19 runs) and L Manchen Konyak (10 runs) were the other runs contributors for Mon. For Longleng, Arjun Kumar Yadav and Moakumzuk won three wickets each, Mungkham got two wickets and one wicket each was shared between Bidesi Nayak and Shingpang.

Needing just 132 runs for the win Longleng had not much to worry early on as noteworthy contributions came from Moakumzuk 32 runs, Watimeren 22 runs and Arjun Kumar Yadav 26 runs. However it was Bidesi Nayak 22 runs (Not Out), who made it possible for Longleng to win by four wickets in a close encounter at the end. Renthungo and Pangnyei P picked up two wickets each while Phaknyu Konyak and Nanwang Konyak picked one wicket each.

Man of the Match was awarded to Arjun Kumar Yadav for his 26 runs and three wicket haul.

At Sovima Cricket Ground, Having won the toss and electing to bat, Phek opening batsman got off to a slow start as John Thevury and Kotso Mero scored 14 runs and 27 runs each after spending 41 and 34 minutes on the crease. Muzita Nienu (11 runs) and Lawrence Vero (29 runs) were the other run contributors for the Phek team. Bohoto Yeptho, the captain of Kiphire, led his pack of bowlers and finished with impressive figures of three wickets in six overs giving away only 19 runs. Sonu Chand and Upender Rai took two wickets while Ajay Dey and Yangli Y Sangtam took a wicket each to restrict Phek’s score to 134/10 in 29.0 overs.

In the run chase it was Bohoto Yeptho yet again with an impressive captain’s knock of 23 runs for the opening stand along with Avishek KR Singh who also produced 62 runs for a brilliant opening partnership of 55 runs.

Upender Singh meanwhile stitched up 35 runs and remained Not Out to guide his team with a seven wickets victory over Phek in 22.2 overs.

Man of the match was awarded to Bohoto Yeptho for his 23 runs and taking three wickets.

Another exciting finish was on the cards as Tuensang defeated Peren by three runs. After winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Tuensang started with some early hiccups as their top order batsman failed to deliver. It was their middle order batsmen who saved their blushes with some solid batting performances with impressive contributions from Rajesh Das 54 runs, Royimkiu 36 runs, Baharul Islam 20 runs and Imlong 14 runs for Tuensang to impose a total of 152 runs losing 8 wickets after the completion of 30 overs. For Peren, Poiring was the pick of the bowlers as he picked up three wickets while Ujwal Rai took two wickets and Mughavi Wotsa and Bamyibe Npanme got a wicket each.

In the run chase, Peren’s Ujwal Rai made 57 runs followed by Parbez Alom 38 runs and Bamyibe Npanme 10 runs who staged a fight back but they still faltered and fell short of the target by three runs after getting all out in 22.0 overs.

Baharul Islam and Royimkiu shared four wickets each while Chily Sangtam took two wickets to settle the game in favour of Tuensang.

Man of the match was awarded to Royimkiu for taking four wickets and scoring 36 runs.

May 24

Nagaland Cricket Stadium

  • 8 am: Zunheboto vs Tseminyu
  • 12:30 pm: Mokochung vs Phek

Sovima Cricket Ground

8 am: Kohima vs Mon

By EMN Updated: May 23, 2023 9:28:02 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS