Senior Men’s Cricket Tourney: Dimapur, Wokha, Niuland, Chumoukedima Secure First Wins - Eastern Mirror
Friday, April 19, 2024
Nagaland Sports

Senior men’s cricket tourney: Dimapur, Wokha, Niuland, Chumoukedima secure first wins

By EMN Updated: May 22, 2023 10:23 pm

DIMAPUR: On the first day of the senior men’s inter-district tournament played at Nagaland Cricket Stadiumm, defending champions Dimapur walked past Zunheboto with a comfortable six-wicket win to secure their first win of the tournament.

Having won the toss, Zunheboto elected to bat and could manage to put up only 90 runs on the scoreboard losing all wickets in 22.4 overs. Imtizungted Jamir (31 runs), Thejasilie (19 runs) and Hopito Assumi were the only notable scorers for Zunheboto team after Tahmeed Rahman ran havoc with the ball for a five-wicket claim, which was ably supported by Hem Bahadur Chetri and Renben with two wickets each.

Dimapur chased down the target in 12.1 overs losing four wickets. Joshua Ben Ozukum (39 runs) and Temjentoshi Jamir (27 runs) displayed classy batting skills as Dimapur achieved their target with ease.

Man of the Match was awarded to Tahmeed Rahman of Dimapur for his five wickets haul in 5.4 overs.

In the second match of the day at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Wokha won the toss and chose to bat first. All the top five batsmen of Wokha contributed together to impose a huge total of 174 runs on the board with Nzanthung Mozhui 36 runs, Khyothungo Patton 27 runs, Renjamo Y Mozhui 21 runs, Nchumbemo Humtsoe 39 runs and Mhachamo M Mozhui 15 runs respectively.

Sepichem and Michael took two wickets each while Khriesavituo, Samuel and Dagachu took one wicket each.

In the run chase, Kohima fought back with grit however they fell short by 24 runs for Wokha to steal their first points on the table.

Michael Zaputou and Seyievizo Zaputou top scored with 49 and 36 runs each but it was not enough with a big total on the board.

The Wokha unit displayed a disciplined bowling attack with Renchio Odyuo, Bonthungo Murry, Nchumbemo Kikon and Mhachamo M Mozhui scalping two wickets each.

Man of the Match was awarded to Nchumbemo Humtsoe for his 39 runs knock.

Meanwhile, at the second venue, Niuland  triumphed over Kiphire by nine wickets at Sovima Cricket Ground.

Kiphire after having won the toss elected to bat first and could manage to put up a total of 86 runs losing all wickets in 24.5 overs.

Avishek KR Singh 43 runs and Bohoto Yeptho 13 runs were the only batsmen who could reach the double figures for some runs. Vino G Zhimomi who was later awarded the man of the match was the pick of the bowlers as he pocketed 5 wickets in six overs for Niuland.

Chasing a paltry 86 runs for victory Niuland overcame the target in just 8.1 overs and won by nine wickets as the opening duo of Afzal Hussain 28 runs and Vishal Sahani 39 runs made it an easy sail for the Niuland team first points on the table.

The second match at the SCG was played between Chumoukedima and Tuensang.

Having won the toss and electing to bat first Chumoukedima amassed a huge total of 256 runs on the board losing 4 wickets for Tuensang to chase down in 30 overs.

The openers Keneizetuo Rio and Mughavi gave their team a solid start with 37 and 31 runs each while Sedezhalie Rupreo continued his elite batting form since NECDC Interstate tournament and put up a classy 100* (Not out) to help his team make a formidable total. Later Imliwati with a captain’s knock of 43 runs and Khrievitso Kense 12 runs upped the ante.

In the run chase Tuensang batsmen were never allowed to settle down in the game as Chumoukedima bowlers kept taking crucial wickets at intervals as Neizekho Rupreo their talisman took five wickets to make the big difference between the two teams. Aneizo took two wickets while Khrievitso Kense and Mainul took one wicket each. For Tuensang, Thebise 23 runs and Royimkiu 16 runs were the only batsmen to reach a double digit mark.

Man of the match was shared between the two brothers Sedezhalie Rupreo for his 100* runs (Not out) knock in 66 balls and Neizekho Rupreo for taking five wickets in four overs conceding only six runs.

May 23

Nagaland Cricket Stadium

  • 8 am: Niuland vs Mokokchung
  • 12:30 pm: Longleng vs Mon

Sovima Cricket Ground

  • 8 am: Kiphire vs Phek
  • 12:30 pm: Tuensang vs Peren
By EMN Updated: May 22, 2023 10:23:34 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS