SEC Announces ULB Election Schedule In Nagaland - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, May 23, 2024

SEC announces ULB election schedule in Nagaland

By EMN Updated: Apr 30, 2024 1:12 am

DIMAPUR — The State Election Commissioner (SEC) on Tuesday notified the ‘Election Programme’ for the general election to three municipal councils and 36 town councils in Nagaland.

The Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into operation with immediate effect within these urban local bodies (ULBs).

The MCC, as contained in the “Model Code of Conduct for the guidance of Political Parties and Candidates” and adopted by the SEC, will remain in force till the completion of the election, the SEC informed in an update.

The election will be held on June 26, with counting and declaration of results on June 29, while the period for filing of nomination is from June 7 to the 11th.

Meanwhile, the electoral-roll for the ensuing elections was published on April 12, with January 1, 2024 as qualifying date, along with subsequent amendments if any, for 25 municipalities under the districts of Kohima, Dimapur, Mokokchung, Chümoukedima, Niuland, Peren, Phek, Tseminyu, Wokha and Zunheboto.

For the 14 municipalities in the districts of Mon, Longleng, Noklak, Tuensang, Shamator and Kiphire, there were no claims and objections, and the existing electoral roll as finally published on 24.11.2022 along with subsequent amendments, if any, shall remain operational, it said.

Also read: After Lok Sabha polls, eastern Nagaland to abstain from ULB election, central or state celebrations

By EMN Updated: Apr 30, 2024 1:12:24 am
Website Design and Website Development by TIS