Re-polling Passes Off Peacefully In Manipur - Eastern Mirror
Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Re-polling passes off peacefully in Manipur

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Apr 22, 2024 10:15 pm
Re-polling underway at Iroishemba Upper Primary School under Uripok assembly constituency in Imphal West district in Manipur on Monday.

IMPHAL — Re-polling at 11 polling stations in the Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency passed off peacefully amidst tight security today.

The Election Commission of India’s announced re-polling at 11 polling booths in four assembly constituencies after being hit by violence when voting was held in the first phase on April 19.

A senior official of the Chief Electoral Officer’s office in Imphal, said that the no untoward incidents were reported during the re-polling and the voter turnout recorded till 5 pm was 81.61 per cent.

People turned up to cast their votes in good number after the low turnout in the initial hours, amid tight security, comprising mostly the central armed police force.

The 11 polling stations where re-polling was held included 3/11 Moirangkampu Sajeb (A) and 3/21-Khurai Thongam Leikai,4/43-Bamon Kampu (North-A),4/44-Bamon Kampu (North-B), 4/45- Bamon Kampu (South West),4/46- Bamon Kampu (South East),5/31-Khongman Zone-V(A), 10/1-Iroishemba, 10/6- Iroishemba Mamang Leikai, 10/7- Iroishemba Mayai Leikai and 18/22- Khaidem Makha.

Polling in Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency during the first phase of election was marred by incidents of EVM destruction, firing and intimidation, and allegations of booth capturing at some polling stations.

As many as 13 assembly segments in Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency will go to polls on April 26. Four candidates — Alfred Kanngam Arthur (INC), Kachui Timothy Zimik (Naga People’s Front), and Independent candidates S Kho John and Alyson Abonmai – are in the fray for the seat.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Apr 22, 2024 10:15:43 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS