Re-polling For Outer Manipur Seat To Be Held Tomorrow - Eastern Mirror
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Re-polling for Outer Manipur seat to be held tomorrow

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Apr 29, 2024 11:56 pm

IMPHAL — The government of Manipur has declared public holidays for public offices, educational institutions, autonomous bodies, etc., and a paid holiday for commercial and private undertakings located within the six polling stations of Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency, where fresh poll is scheduled to be held on April 30, according to an order issued by General Administrative Department (GAD) on Monday.

 The six polling stations where the ECI has ordered fresh polls are 44/20 Shangshak Government High School (N/W), 44/36 Ukhrul Model High School (N/W), 44/41 Greenland Primary School, 44/50 KK Leishi Phanit Junior School of Ukhrul assembly constituency and 45/14 Chingai Government High School of Chingai assembly constituency — all under Ukhrul district, and 47/33 Oinam High School (R/W) of Karong Assembly Constituency in Senapati district.

 The Labour Commissioner cum secretary of government of Manipur will make necessary arrangements with all private enterprises, industrial centres and other institutions under the Shops and Commercials Establishment Act to declare April 30 as a paid holiday for their employees residing in the six polling stations, said GAD order.

 No deduction or abatement of wages of any such persons shall be made for the above-mentioned poll days on account of a holiday having been granted to the person in accordance with law and if such person is employed on the basis that he would not accordingly receive wages for such a day, it added.

 The re-polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm on April 30.

In a press release, the Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur Pradeep Kumar Jha also appealed to all voters of these polling stations to come out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.

It may be mentioned that the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) had urged the CEO Manipur to take up necessary action by ordering re-poll at 19 polling stations in Ukhrul (17) and Phungyar (2) assembly constituencies in Outer Manipur.

Four candidates — Alfred Kanngam Arthur (INC), Kachui Timothy Zimik (NPF), and Independent candidates S Kho John and Alyson Abonmai – are in the fray for the Outer Manipur parliamentary seat.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Apr 29, 2024 11:56:11 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS