Re-poll Likely In Some Polling Stations In Outer Manipur, Says CEO - Eastern Mirror
Monday, April 22, 2024

Re-poll likely in some polling stations in Outer Manipur, says CEO

By Our Correspondent Updated: Apr 14, 2019 10:52 pm

Our Correspondent

Imphal, April 14 (EMN): There are chances for re-polling in some polling stations in Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) PK Singh of Manipur said.

“We may be able to find out details including re-polling by tomorrow after it was forwarded to ECI for approval,” he said.

The scrutiny for the polling stations with possible re-poll for Outer Manipur parliamentary constituency is being held under the supervision of its returning officer at Thoubal district headquarters on Sunday, CEO said.

The election materials including the EVMs (Electronic voting machines) of two polling stations at Poi village in Ukhrul district were destroyed by unknown persons on the polling day of the first phase polling(on April 11).

Informing that the complaints received at his office have been forwarded to the concerned returning officer for verification, he also clarified that there was no wrong procedure of elections at Churachandpur district.

CEO informed that some polling parties of Churachandpur and Tamenglong district, who could not reach their respective district headquarters after the polling on April 11, reached their destination early Saturday and that the sealed EVMs arrived at the respective district headquarters are stored in the strong rooms.

Final voter turnout for the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency has reached 84.21 percent, he said.

The total female polling percentage this time is 84.97% while the male is 83.38%.

According to an official figure of the final voter turnout by the CEO office, a total of 8,51,022 voters out of 10,10617 voters cast their votes across 1,562 polling stations including eight valley assembly constituencies which constitutes 238,260 voters.

The highest number of voter turnout among all the 28 assembly constituencies was recorded at Mao constituency in Senapati district of the state (93.99%) while Churachandpur constituency in Churachandpur district had the least voter turnout at just 53.62%.

The first phase of the two-phased 17th Lok Sabha election which was held across 28 assembly constituencies under 12 districts of the state, to elect a member of parliament, was held on April 11.

The second phase polling of inner Manipur parliamentary constituency scheduled to be held on April 18 are all set to provide gifts for the first 50 voters and gifts for persons with disabilities.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Apr 14, 2019 10:52:19 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS