Punjab National Bank Lifts B Division National Hockey Championship - Eastern Mirror
Sunday, July 14, 2024

Punjab National Bank lifts B Division National hockey championship

By Our Correspondent Updated: Jan 22, 2018 9:41 pm

Imphal, Jan. 22 (EMN): Punjab National Bank (PNB) lifted the coveted winner’s title of the 8th Hockey India B Division Senior Men National Championship in Imphal on Sun.
In the final match played at Khuman Lampak Astro Turf Hockey Stadium in Khuman Lampak Sports Complex here, PNB defeated its rival Canara bank by 2-0 goals. Sukhjeet Singh and Dalal Satender scored the winning goals in the 38th and 57th minute of the final match of the national tourney which was held for the first time in Manipur.
Interestingly host Manipur and neighbouring Assam hockey teams could not enter the quarter-finals of the tournament which was organised by Manipur Hockey under the aegis of Hockey India. 32 teams from across the country participated in the national tourney.
Attending the closing function of the hockey tournament as the chief guest, State Education and Labour minister Th Radheshyam Singh recalled the potentials of the state players in the field of hockey. The first Olympian from Manipur was the hockey goal keeper P Nilakomol when he played for India in Los Angeles Olympics in 1984.
According to sources from the Manipur Hockey, the two finalist teams are now entitled to take part in the upcoming A division National hockey tournaments in the country. There is a tradition of selecting national level Indian hockey team players from the A division level teams.
It may be noted Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar inaugurated the tournament on Jan. 7.

By Our Correspondent Updated: Jan 22, 2018 9:41:26 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS