Tuesday, December 06, 2022
India, Nagaland

President appoints Kejriwal chief minister of NCT, Delhi

By EMN Updated: Feb 14, 2015 12:10 am

New Delhi, February 13

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Arvind Kejriwal as the chief minister of the government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT) with effect from the date he gets sworn-in, an official statement said here Friday. The president, on the advise of the chief minister-designate, has also appointed Manish Sisodia, Asim Ahmed Khan, Sandeep Kumar, Satyendar Jain, Gopal Rai and Jitender Singh Tomar as ministers in the NCT of Delhi, with effect from the date they are sworn-in, the statement said.
The president revoked with effect from Feb 14, 2015 the order issued Feb 16, 2014 under article 239AB of the constitution in relation to the NCT of Delhi which imposed President’s Rule in Delhi, the statement added.
Earlier in the day, the union cabinet approved the revocation of President’s Rule in the national capital, paving the way for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government headed by Kejriwal to take power. Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi’s chief minister Saturday at the Ramlila Maidan.

By EMN Updated: Feb 14, 2015 12:10:02 am