Thursday, October 06, 2022

Peaceful sailing as Nagaland records 78.67% polling

By Our Correspondent Updated: Apr 12, 2019 1:06 am
A man casts his vote in Dimapur on Thursday. (EM Images/Caisii Mao)

Our Correspondent

Kohima, April 11 (EMN): Contrary to how elections are normally conducted here in Nagaland, the polling process ended “peacefully” and “smoothly” on Thursday with the total voter turnout of 78.67% (provisional) in the Nagaland Parliamentary election and 84.3% in 26-Aonglenden assembly constituency in Mokokchung district.

Addressing media persons at an after-poll press conference held at the AMK building in Kohima, the Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland, Abhijit Sinha and the Returning Officer, M Patton said that the polling process across the state was peaceful and smooth, with less voter turnout percentage comparing to the Lok Sabha by-poll held last year.

The highest voter turnout was recorded in Pughoboto with total percentage of 93.93%, while the two districts with lowest voters’ turnout were Peren with 64.43% and Kohima with 64.73%, the CEO informed.

As for the voters’ turnout percentage for the Parliamentary election, it might still see a slight increase because the total figure will be made known when the polling parties deposit their polling materials and documents, Sinha said.

The actual figure of the voters will come out on Friday once the scrutiny is done. The scrutiny will be conducted on the same day from 11 am onwards in Kohima, he informed.

On the reports of an EVM allegedly malfunctioning at Lumami village, the CEO clarified that the deputy commissioner of Zunheboto had enquired the matter and found out the machine functioning correctly. The report being circulated in social media platforms is incorrect, he added.

The CEO said his office has taken up the issue of Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton wearing a BJP scarf while casting vote at his native village at Rephyim in his home constituency 37-Tyui in Wokha district. “One cannot go around wearing anything related to political party’s symbol on polling day. The DEO concerned will issue letter accordingly,” he added.

He also said that the Congress party has demanded re-poll in the polling station. The RO, M Patton said that the final decision will be taken after scrutinising the report of the presiding officer, sector magistrate, and the comments of the DEO concerned. Therefore, he said, it cannot be decided at this stage whether there should be a re-poll.

Three EVMs at Asangma PS no. 19 under 21 Tuli AC broke down and had to be replaced, he added. The final replacement was made from the neighbouring sector machines and polling was delayed till late evening on the same day, Patton added.

This time around, no specific complaints about booth capturing were received, except for an advisory from the NBCC to probe proxy voting. Nagaland has a total of 12,13,777 electorates, comprising 5,98,503 women and 6,15,274 men voters, including 7415 service voters.

Four candidates — INC’s K L Chishi, NDPP’s Tokheho Yepthomi, NPP’s Hayithung Tungoe and Independent Dr. MM Thromwa Konyak—are in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio cast his vote at Touphema village in Northern Angami-II. Opposition Leader TR Zeliang did it in Jalukie town of Peren district.


By Our Correspondent Updated: Apr 12, 2019 1:06:58 am