Parliamentary Committee On Naga Political Issue Constituted - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, June 15, 2024

Parliamentary Committee on Naga political issue constituted

By EMN Updated: Jun 11, 2021 8:25 pm

Dimapur, June 11 (EMN): The government of Nagaland has notified that a parliamentary committee on Naga political issue has been constituted to discuss matters related to the protracted Naga issue and play the role of facilitator in the ongoing peace talks between the government of India and the Naga political groups.

An update from DIPR informed that the parliamentary committee will be comprised of all the 60 members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) and two members of parliament from Nagaland with Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio as convenor, Deputy CM Y Patton and Opposition Leader TR Zeliang are co-convenors, and Minister of Planning and Coordination, Land Revenue, Parliamentary Affairs, Neiba Kronu as member secretary.

It went on to add that within the parliamentary committee, there will be a core committee with the following members:

Convenor                    – Neiphiu Rio, Chief Minister

Co-Convenor              – Y Patton, Deputy Chief Minister

Co-Convenor              – T R Zeliang, Leader of Opposition

Member Secretary       – Neiba Kronu, Minister, Planning & Coordination, Land Revenue, Parliamentary Affairs

Members of Core Committee

NDPP: G Kaito Aye, Minister of Agriculture & Cooperation; Metsubo Jamir, Minister of Rural Development; H Chuba Chang, MLA; and Toshi Wungtung, Advisor of IPR, SCERT, VG

BJP: P Paiwang Konyak, Minister of TPT, Land Resources Dev.; Jacob Zhimomi, Minister of PHE; Mmhonlumo Kikon, Advisor of 1&T, S&T, NRE; Dr. Longrineken, Advisor of TA, NH; and H Haying, Advisor of Prisons & PS

NPF: Imkong L Imchen, MLA; Yitachu, MLA; Y M Yollow Konyak, MLA; Dr. Chotisuh Sazo, MLA; and Dr. Chumben Murry, MLA

Independent: Tongpang Ozukum, Minister of Housing and Mechanical

By EMN Updated: Jun 11, 2021 8:25:14 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS