Friday, May 20, 2022
Nagaland Sports

Pache wins Hornbill half marathon for second time

By Our Correspondent Updated: Dec 05, 2016 12:00 am

Kohima, Dec. 4 : Last year’s winner Pache Khiamniungan produced the best record ever in the history of the Hornbill Half Marathon, and retained his title in men’s category at the 6th Hornbill Half Marathon held today.
Pache emerged as the champion clocking 1:08:56 covering a distance of of 21.0975 km. The starting point of the race was New Secretariat, via High School junction – IG Stadium – High Court junction – Army Camp, Tsiesema – back to High Court junction – Kohima DEO junction and ended at New Secretariat.
N. Puchong Khiam (1:13:33) bagged the second place in men’s category, while Thungtimoba Chang (1:13:40) came third. The top three winners in men’s category received a cash award of Rs. 65,000, Rs. 30,000 and Rs. 20,000 respectively.
In women’s category, Khrieno Tero completed the race in 1:34:32 to emerge as the winner. She bagged the title by beating 2013 winner Sagolsem Premila Devi of Manipur (1:36:06) who secured second. Darishisha Langjuh (1:37:27) came third in women’s category. The top three winners in women’s category were awarded with cash prizes of Rs. 50,000, Rs. 25,000 and Rs. 15,000 respectively.In the 11.9 km Great Hornbill Run for students of Class 10 & below, Keneisao Theünuo emerged as the winner in boy’s category, followed by Mutsizo Lohe, Abutani Kutum and Jackson Yanphar. In girl’s category, T. Tsuchoi won the race, while Songmo P, Chimmushe and Peheiteile bagged the second, third and fourth positions respectively.
In the third category – a short distance race called as “Special Lap” was organized as part of social cause/charity event for people with special needs under the theme “Hornbill for all.” The special lap was attended by 45 differently abled students from Cherry Blossoms School and Tabitha Enabling Academy.
A host of social and humanitarian enthusiasts including Parliamentary Secretary for Youth Resources & Sports, Music Task Force, Khriehu Liezietsu, prominent sportspersons, local celebrities, teachers, public leaders from Angami Students Union and Angami Youth Organisation, as well as voluntary runners showed solidarity with the special category participants by running the special lap which was a short distance run along the stretch of New Secretariat road.
All participants with various disabilities were given certificates and gift hampers.
The 6th Hornbill Half Marathon was organized by 3E Nagaland in connection with the Hornbill festival.

The full list of top ten runners in order of merit:
Half Marathon (Men)
Pache Khiamnungan – 1:08:56
N. Puchong Khiam – 1:13:33
Thungtimoba Chang – 1:13:40
Jonathan – 1:14:44
Ilanding Wahlang – 1:15:09
Kresstarjune Pathaw – 1:17:31
N. Chikong Chang – 1:18:17
Cuvoto Medeo – 1:18:34
Michael Thongnirit – 1:18:59
Tsole Yhokha – 1:22:40
Half Marathon (Women)
Khrieno Tero – 1:34:32
Sagolsem Premila Devi – 1:36:06
Darishisha Langjuh – 1:37:27
Nidhi Pruthi – 1:41:07
Shoniu S. – 1:49:39
Neipreu Kupa – 1:52:41
Supon S. – 1:59:32
Lucy Pochury – 1:59:32
Wecheteu Khape – 2:08:20
Akha Losa Krichena – 2:10:42
Great Hornbill Run (Girls)
Tsuchoi T.
Songmo P.
Vevosolu Tetseo
Rüguonuo Kratsütsu
Kekruvino Marlyne Kuotsu
N. Manjai Phom
Zhovelu Nienu
Great Hornbill Run (Boys)
Keneisao Theünuo
Mutsizo Lohe
Abutani Kutum
Jackson Yanphar
Iteipetbo Nkie
Züta Shijo
Chingsen Konyak
Vilalkolie Üsou
Stephen Kent

By Our Correspondent Updated: Dec 05, 2016 12:00:27 am