Sunday, December 05, 2021
Nagaland Sports

Open Naga Kiti-Do Championship held

By EMN Updated: Aug 11, 2013 12:41 am

Dimapur, August 10

The 6th Open Naga Kiti-Do Championship was held here at the State Indoor Stadium, Dimapur on Saturday.
The first of its kind and by exploring the rich traditional art of Nagaland, Naga Kiti-Do was extracted from the ancient Naga kick fight and was founded by Israel G Xuivi on January 28, 1994. Since then Naga Kiti-Do has never stepped down in the arena of martial arts with various recognition nationally and internationally as well.
In Saturday’s open championship, contestants from different martial art organization participated in three categories viz, below 55 kg, (56-65) Kg and (66-75) Kg and all above 18 years.
The opening ceremony had a quick start off with an invocation prayer by Athili Daniel.
Yimkongniken Aonok, Organising Secretary ANKA, Otoka Yeptho, Chairman Organising Committee and Israel G.Xuivi, founder Naga Kiti-Do gave away the trophies to the winners.  The champions were awarded with a cash prize of Rs.25, 000 while the runner-up received Rs.10, 000.
The Organising Committee, All Naga Kiti-Do Association (ANKA), has congratulated the winners and applauded the participants and their coaches for showing true spirits of sportsmanship.
The association has meanwhile informed that the championship is going to be an annual event and fighters from any martial art group are welcome from within and outside Nagaland to take part in the championship.
The Basic theme in organising such an event in an open level is just to give a running platform to all aspirant martial artist to pursue their goals stated a press statement received here and it further added, “we have many unexploited martial artist in Nagaland, where such a platform provided can make their goals achieve in a bigger ways.”

[tabs type=”horizontal”][tabs_head][tab_title]Winners[/tab_title][/tabs_head][tab]1. Below 55 KG Champion: Bothuka H. Yepthomi Runner-Up: Tol Sumi 2. (56-65) KG Champion: Temsunungsang Runner-Up: Itoka N. Shikhu 3. (66-75) KG Champion: Kavi K. Swu Runner-Up: Limakhumba Anok[/tab][/tabs]

By EMN Updated: Aug 11, 2013 12:41:06 am