NSF Martyrs' Memorial Trophy: Phesama YO beat New Market FC in opening game - Eastern Mirror
Monday, February 06, 2023
Nagaland Sports

NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy: Phesama YO beat New Market FC in opening game

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Oct 10, 2021 12:41 am
Players of New Market FC and Phesama YO along with L Dikho, organising committee officials and others on Saturday evening at IG Stadium.

Our Correspondent
Kohima, Oct. 9 (EMN):
Phesama YO from the Southern Angami region defeated New Market FC in a 5-3 win during the inaugural match of the 21st NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, which commenced at IG Stadium in Kohima on Saturday evening.

In the eight-goal thriller, a competitive first half ended in a 2-2 draw in the opening match of the tournament.

With just seven minutes into the game, skipper Kevi Chuse opened the tally for Phesama to give the team the lead.

But, New Market soon restored parity through striker Rhitso Mero in the 23rd minute followed by teammate Salu Kulim’s strike in the 25th minute during the night match.

However, a determined Phesama managed to equalise the margin 2-2 through the boots of Kelevi Chuse in the 30th minute.

Kelevi Chuse went on to score his brace just two minutes into the commencement of the second half. In the counter attack, captain Gideon Leo scored the much needed equaliser for New Market FC, making a 3-3 tie in the 47th minute.

However, Phesama took the lead again through Theja Chuse two minutes later, while Mhasineizo Chuse sealed off the match in the dying minutes of the game making it 5-3.

High time for Nagas to shine on national, international arenas — L Dikho

Earlier, speaking during the inaugural programme as the special guest, L Dikho, minister of PHED, Printing and Stationery, government of Manipur, encouraged the sportspersons to take the professional seriously, reminding that it’s ‘high time for the Nagas to shine for themselves in both the national and international arenas’.

Stating how scores of Manipuri players including over 5,000 footballers are playing in India as well as outside the country generating over six crores, he reminded the Naga sportspersons to take up their profession seriously.

Dikho, who also represented Nagaland football team and emerged as the champions of Subroto Cup in 1989 after defeating Manipur, also expressed sadness that government -run sports academies in Nagaland were not able to produce national and international players.

While games and sports are part and parcel of Naga culture and tradition, the minister laid emphasis on the need to give more dedication, commitment and focus on those competitive physical activities, which has become a huge industry in modern times.

Dievi Yano, convenor organising committee, informed that 52 teams are taking part in this year’s edition for which a huge prize money has been set aside.

He also reminded the players to play in the true spirit of sportsmanship while abiding by the rules and be ambassadors of brotherhood through the game.

Kegwayhun Tep, president of Naga Students’ Federation (NSF), while offering respect in remembrance of two souls — Kekuojalie Sachü and Vikhozo Yhoshü– in whose names the trophy has been organised over the years, recalled how their lives were laid down at the “altar of democracy 33 years ago.”

He informed that on “20th of March 1986, when thousands of students came forward to extend their solidarity to the NSF to protest against the extension of the Disturbed Areas Act (DAA) — from the 5 km belt to 20 km along the Indo-Burma border and the introduction of the Indian Police Service cadre in Nagaland (which focussed on inducting non-Nagas), Sachü of Kohima village and Yhoshü of Kigwema village succumbed to the indiscriminate firing upon the peaceful agitating students by the armed police forces from Alichen.”

“Through the martyrdom of the two noble souls, our aspirations and our hopes were renewed once again with a renewed sense of direction and purpose, our desire and the ultimate ‘goal for peace’ which is the prayer and the aspiration of the Naga people, thus, came into being,” he said.

Meanwhile, Thejalhoukho Thomas Khawakhrie, secretary, games and sports, ASU administered oath taking to the leaders of the participating teams.

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Oct 10, 2021 12:41:47 am