NSBSG awards members for outstanding performance - Eastern Mirror
Tuesday, May 30, 2023

NSBSG awards members for outstanding performance

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Aug 27, 2021 11:01 pm
Ruokuongulie Albert Solo (centre) receives the honourable charge from Atuo Mezhür Sekhose and Vilasielie Pienyü during the event in Kohima.

Our Correspondent
Kohima, August 27 (EMN):
The Nagaland State Bharat Scouts and Guides (NSBSG) gave away awards to several members for their outstanding performances during its annual award ceremony and state-level council meeting held in Kohima on Friday.

Ruokuongulie Albert Solo, state training commissioner (scout), was conferred the honourable charge as ‘leader trainer’ in the scout section for the state. He was conferred the prestigious title, which is one of the highest Bharat Scouts and Guides awards for successfully completing the leader trainers’ training (scout wing) last year.

Solo was the fourth recipient of the award among the Nagas and third from the Angami tribe.

Speaking to this newspaper after the event, Solo, who joined the association as a scout master, expressed his happiness on receiving the award. He affirmed his commitment towards the movement particularly in training of the adult leaders.

It may be mentioned that Peteneilhou Shüya was the first recipient of the award in 1978, while P Haolai and Luopralie Üsou received the award in 1980 and 1997 respectively among the adult leader trainers.

Solo and Vimezhonu Tetso, state organising commissioner (guide), were the only two leader trainers for the movement at present in the state.

Meanwhile, pre-assistant leader trainer (ALT) qualifying certificates were presented to Kekhrieselhou Theunuo, rover scout leader; Khriesanyu Pienyu, rover scout leader; and Joshua Aier, scout master.

Imtisunep Imchen of Alpine Open Unit, Kohima, was awarded the Ring Badge of Messenger of Peace (MOP).

On the occasion of this year’s 75th anniversary of India’s Independence (Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav), several events were also organised.

In the fancy dress competition for cubs and bulbuls, Lhaideivah Chongloi won the first prize, while second and third positions were bagged by Shibani Das and Arpita Debnath respectively. All the winners were from Vidhya Bhavan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur.

In the painting competition for Scouts and Guides, Sukumba of Mezhür Higher School, Kohima, clinched the first prize, while Soumen Paul of Vidhya Bhawan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur, and Vileno Sakhrü of Corrigio School, Kohima, bagged the second and third positions respecitvely.

In the elocution competition organised for Rovers and Rangers, first position was won by Rahul Singh from Vidhya Bhawan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur, while Ujjal Dutta of Alpine Open Rover Crew, Kohima, and Ivitoli Swu from Vidhya Bhawan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur, secured the second and third positions respectively.

The annual awards for the districts and individual adult leaders for 2020 were also given away during the event.

Diezelhou Sothu from NSBSG bagged the first runner-up during the Bharat Scouts and Guides National Singing Fiesta 2020.

Award for the best unit leader (Scout Wing) was conferred to Joshua Aier, scout master from Vidhya Bhawan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur; while the best unit leader (Guide Wing) was awarded to Imlikala Aier, guide captain from Vidhya Bhawan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur; the best unit (Scout Wing) was awarded to Alpine Open Rover Crew, Kohima; best unit (Guide Wing) award to Vidhya Bhawan Higher Secondary School, Dimapur;  best district professional (Scout Wing) award to T Zuchanthung, assistant district organiser (Scout) from Wokha; best district professional (Guide Wing) award to Bichano Shitiri, district organizing commissioner (Guide); and overall best district went to Wokha district.

The virtual state-level lockdown challenge competition held on the theme “Exploring Skills” last year was won by Yapuvino Yhoshu, ranger from Alpine Open Ranger Team Kohima, and Aying of Don Bosco School, Mon, from the Guide wing category, while in the Scout wing division the winners were Thejavizo Ciesotsu of Mezhur Higher Secondary School, Kohima, and Vithoru Rume from Alpine Open Rover Crew, Kohima.

All the winners of various competitions were handed over citations along with cash awards by Atuo Mezhür Sekhose, chief commissioner of NSBSG.

While congratulating the award recipients and winners, Sekhose stated that the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020 had hampered all the activities of the association scheduled for the year. He informed that the census of the association remained stagnant as was in 2019 due to the pandemic induced lockdown.

However, he appealed to all the concerned district officials to remain active and be in touch with the scouts and guides through alternative ways despite of the prevailing situation for the uplift of the movement.

It may be mentioned here that NSBSG is part of the largest international uniform movement in the world.

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Aug 27, 2021 11:01:37 pm