Friday, December 03, 2021

NPF to field 12 candidates in Arunachal; distributes tickets to Rio and Lorho

By EMN Updated: Mar 19, 2014 10:30 pm

Principal Correspondent

Buoyed over the winning of four seats in the Manipur Assembly elections in 2012, the Naga People’s Front (NPF) today declared to set up 12 candidates for Arunachal Pradesh assembly elections scheduled for April 9.
The tickets were official handed over by NPF president Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu during the ticket distribution ceremony of the Party for Lok Sabha seats of Nagaland and Manipur and Arunachal Assembly Elections here today.
He handed over the tickets to NPF Arunachal Pradesh Unit Aonok Wangsha and two other party leaders while DAN consensus candidate Neiphiu Rio for Nagaland and Soso Lorho for Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency were also conferred with the tickets.
Talking to newsmen at his official chamber, the NPF president stated that there were around 26 NPF ticket seekers for as the Arunachal assembly elections but the sudden announcement of election dates aborted such plans and NPF settled with decision to field 12 candidates. Four candidates would be fielded in the Naga inhabited areas of the state while eight would be set up in Itanagar, he said.
Meanwhile, reacting to the boycott call of Students Union Movement of Arunachal (SUMA) opposing the NPF’s entry into the state, Dr Shurhozelie said that “NPF will take up the matter carefully as there are some misinterpretations”.
“We will meet SUMA leaders and resolve the matter with them,” he said.
NPF and NSCN(IM) are different and we as are only a political party, he said adding “Ours (NPF) is a recognized political party and when there are takers we can go to any part of the country”.
In a representation to the Arunachal chief electoral commissioner, the SUMA had reportedly alleged that the NPF has close ties with NSCN (I-M) and expressed apprehension that its presence in Arunachal would lead to tribal unrest besides allowing the party to exert political influence through ‘militant power’.
Meanwhile, the official kick of the election campaign for Manipur will be done on March 26 at Senapati while for Nagaland it will be done at DDSC on March 27.
The NPF also constituted the state level DAN election campaign committee for the forthcoming polls with Minister for PHED Noke Wangnao as convenor along with BJP President Dr. Chuba Ao, JDU president Mhonjan Lotha and Minister for Roads & Bridges and & Parliamentary Affairs Kuzholuzo (Azo) Nienu as co-conveners.
Minister for Tourism, Art & Culture E.E.Pangteang is the convenor for the election campaign of NPF candidates for assembly polls in Arunachal Pradesh while Minister of Planning & Coordination, Evaluation, Geology & Mining TR Zeliang is the convener for Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency.
Earlier, the CEC meeting chaired by NPF working president Apong Pongener commenced with invocation by state chaplain Rev. K. Luruo while welcome address was delivered by working president Huskha Yepthomi.

By EMN Updated: Mar 19, 2014 10:30:39 pm