Tuesday, December 07, 2021
Nagaland Sports

NP and Naga United to clash in grand finale today

By EMN Updated: Oct 19, 2013 12:59 pm

Kohima, October 18

Former champions Nagaland Police and Naga United will clash of champion’s title on the prestigious 14th edition of the NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy organized by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) under the theme ‘Goal for Peace’ on Saturday at 1:00 pm. MLA and Advisor New & Renewable Energy and Music Task Force Khriehu Liezietsu will grace the grand-finale as the guest of honour.The tournament an annual feature of ASU is organized in memory of the two brave students Late Kekuozhalie Sachü and Late Vikhozo Yhoshü for their supreme sacrifice in duty call of the NSF in 1986.
Altogether, 65 teams totaling 1170 players participated in this year’s edition with 51 teams from Kohima, 4 teams from Phek, 3 teams from Dimapur, 1 team from Zunheboto, 1 team from Peren and 5 teams from Manipur State.
So far in the 63 matches played till the semi-finals, a total 236 goals with a total of 15 hat-tricks have been scored. 104 players penalized with yellow cards and two players shown red card. Twelve matches have been decided through tie-breaker. Amongst the goal scorers Minthung of Kuki SU has set the record of fastest goal scoring within first 19 second while Limakumzuk of Nagaland Police with is the highest scorer with 13 goals.
Meanwhile, the final match will witness Nagaland Police, a season team of the tourney on one hand while on the other hand is Naga United, a newly formed team with compilation of well known young players. Nagaland Police has entered the finals four times and managed to lift the trophy thrice in 2007, 2008 and 2010 and this is their fifth entry while Naga United are debutants.
In the route to the final, Nagaland Polcie defeated Kohima Science College by 9-1 in the preliminary round; Ablazers FC by 5-0 in the second round, Tyrant’s FC 5-0 in the pre-quarters, Orion FC also 5-0 in the quarter final and HQ IGAR(N) by 3-0 via tie-breaker after being locked in goalless draw in the semi-finals. They have scored a total of 24 goals and conceded only one while seven of their players have been marked with yellow cards.
Players to be watched are Limakumzuk (12) for being the scoring maniac with 13 goals in hand to be the highest scorer so far. He is supported by co-striker Saku (15), who is short statured but has the capability of swiftly dribbling the ball through the rivals. Vizorü (10) is an experienced player with credit making excellent passes at far long, while the defence line is build with captain Beilie Rio (2) and Timas (14).
The Naga United though debutant team but have experienced and swift players brought together. It mostly has past players of Life Sports, Kohima Komets, New Market and Naga Boys. During the previous five matches commencing from preliminary round, Naga United defeated Skull Rangers Poilwa by 4-1; Adriot Boys FC by 7-2 in the second round; New Market (B) by 8-7 via tie-break as they were locked in 1-1 draw in the pre-quarters; DEF Kohima by solitary goal in the quarters and Southern Angami Students’ Union (SASU) by 2-1 in the semi-final. They have scored a total of 15 goals and conceded 5 while three players have been marked with yellow card.
Their players to be watched are Azo Angami (7) for his cool professional techniques and also well measured free kicks. Asito Angami (16) mostly left footer and manages to neatly dribble past the rivals. Avilhou Angami (15) and Kezevituo Angami (6) are two mid-fielders who are not only fast runners but even their play is also quick supported by power attacks.
The best advantage would be custodian Alemse Sangtam (18) for his alertness and safe gloves. However, the defence line with Kornan Rongmei (2), Atoska Sema (4), Saphrei Angami (3) and Akho Angami (5) also stands strong enough to cover the custodian.
Mention may be made here that the champion will dribble away with Rs.1.20 lakh along with running trophy and citations; runners up – Rs.70,000 with running trophy and citation. The losing semi finalist teams received Rs. 15,000 each sponsored by Synergy Group Enterprise and proprietor of Solo Enterprise, Hetuo Solo. Four losing quarter finalist received 7,500 sponsored by four ranges of ASU – Western ASU, Northern ASU, Southern ASU and Chakhro ASU.
Further, individual prizes are sponsored by the following: Best goalkeeper – K. Adobu Shüya, Best Defender – Ketouneizo Sanchu, Highest scorer – Kelhou Suohu of Touch Enterprise, Best midfielder – Neibu Keditsu. Player of the tournament would receive a two wheeler co-sponsored by East Motors Mohankhola Kohima and Yhome Gas Agency Kohima High School junction.
The ticket for final match has been enhanced to Rs. 50 while 10 lucky winners would receive a mobile handset each from the lucky draw of the tickets to be held after the match.

By EMN Updated: Oct 19, 2013 12:59:03 pm