NLA Speaker Sharingain Longkumer Nominated To Committee Of Presiding Officers - Eastern Mirror
Saturday, May 18, 2024

NLA Speaker Sharingain Longkumer nominated to Committee of Presiding Officers

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Jun 10, 2021 6:26 pm
Sharingain Longkumer

Our Correspondent
Kohima, June 10 (EMN): Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA), Sharingain Longkumer has been nominated by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla into the Committee of Presiding Officers to review the powers of presiding officers under the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution and the rules made there under.

This was informed by Dr. PJ Antony, Commissioner and Secretary of NLA, through a press release on Thursday.

According to the release, the committee will be headed by Dr. CP Joshi, Speaker of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly while the members consist of Dr. Surjya Narayana Patro, Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly; Vishweshwar Hedge Kageri, Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly and Sharingain Longkumer, Speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

“The communication to this effect has been received from the Lok Sabha Secretariat on Thursday,” read the press release.

It said the only other representation from the North-East in such a committee of presiding officers is Yumnan Kemchand Singh, Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly, in the committee of the presiding officers to examine the matter of financial independence of the Legislature Secretariat constituted by the Speaker of Lok Sabha.

“It is a well deserved recognition for the state of Nagaland as much as for Speaker Longkumer. With Nagaland having its own share of petitions under the 10th Schedule, his association with this committee will be in the larger interest of Parliamentary democracy,” read the update.

It was learnt that Longkumer’s decision in the petition against the seven MLAs of the current Assembly for their disqualification on the grounds of defection, had attracted the attention of the All India Conference of Presiding Officers, consisting of all the presiding officers of legislative bodies in the country, headed by the Speaker of Lok Sabha.

By Menuse-O Max Khieya Updated: Jun 10, 2021 6:26:05 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS