Monday, December 05, 2022

Niti Aayog CEO sanctions INR 5 cr. for Nagaland’s Kiphire district

By EMN Updated: Apr 07, 2021 10:28 pm
Amitabh Kant and Soumitra Mandal
Amitabh Kant and Soumitra Mandal during the meeting at DC’s Conference Hall in Kiphire on Wednesday. (IA Kiphire)

Dimapur, April 7 (EMN): The government of India’s think tank Niti Aayog’s CEO Amitabh Kant sanctioned INR 5 crore for appointment of Science and Maths teachers in Kiphire during his visit to the district on Wednesday.

An update from DIPR informed that Kant visited Aspirational District, Kiphire, along with Niti Aayog’s Director Soumitra Mandal and convened a meeting at the Deputy Commissioner’s Conference Hall.

Speaking on health and education sector, he stressed on the role of doctors and teachers and urged the state government to post doctors and maths and science teachers in the district at the earliest.

The CEO informed that among the Aspirational Districts in the country, Kiphire ranked first in Health and Nutrition and ranked second in Basic Infrastructure for 2021. He added that the district can be developed if various projects being taken up are properly implemented and managed.

Amitabh Kant addressing the gathering at DC’s Conference Hall in Kiphire on Wednesday. (IA Kiphire)

Stating that ‘health and nutrition sector, and action plan for skilled youth must be improved’ for the district to prosper, Kant assured Centre government’s support in the developmental activities.

The official also told the gathering that hard work is required for the Aspirational District to progress and become number one in the country and that “correct data is very important to measure improvement in the district developmental activities”.

The Niti Aayog officials visited District Hospital Kiphire, GMS Kiphire village, Anganwadi Centre, Kiphire village and ITI Centre, Kiphire. They also met with USLP, Yimchunger Tribal Council and Sumi Tribal Council.

Agriculture department gave a presentation during the programme which was attended by Additional Development Commissioner, Nosazol Charles; Principal Director of School Education, Shanavas; Mission Director (WHM); Assistant Director, Social Welfare, Talitemsula Mengusalie, SP, tribal bodies, DBs, GBs and senior government officials among others.

By EMN Updated: Apr 07, 2021 10:28:39 pm