Wednesday, July 06, 2022

New Manipur Assembly members take oath; Biren Singh says government formation to take time

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Mar 14, 2022 8:48 pm
N Biren Singh taking oath in Imphal on Monday.

Our Correspondent
Imphal, March 14 (EMN):
Manipur caretaker Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Monday said that the formation of a new government will take some time as it needs to follow the formalities.

Speaking to reporters after attending the oath taking ceremony of the newly elected members of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly in Imphal, Biren Singh said that central observers would elect the legislature leader.

When asked about the date of their arrival (observers), he said: “Expecting soon.”

It may be mentioned that the term of the outgoing Assembly is due to expire on March 19.

Expressing happiness over the election of more women legislators in the assembly this time, Singh said it is great news as it would enhance Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Beti Bachao Beti Padhao – women empowerment initiative.

A total of 59 MLAs, including Biren Singh, former chief minister O Ibobi Singh and five women members — three from BJP and two National People’s Party (NPP), took oath as members of the 12th Manipur Assembly on Monday. Protem Speaker Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh administered the oath to the newly elected members.

Those who took oath during the one hour and 40 minutes-long ceremony included 18 first timers.

Manipur Governor La Ganesan had dissolved the 11th Manipur Assembly on March 11 and Biren Singh was asked to continue as caretaker chief minister until a new government is formed.

In the recently concluded Manipur polls, BJP crossed the magic mark by winning 32 seats in the 60-member assembly, while its erstwhile ally NPP bagged seven seats, Janata Dal (United) six seats, the Congress and the Naga People Front five seats each, Kuki People’s Alliance two seats and Independent candidates three.

It may be mentioned that the NPF, JD (U) and an independent member had announced their support to the BJP in forming the new government.

In 2017 Manipur elections, the Congress had emerged as the single-largest party after winning 28 out of 60 seats but the BJP formed the government with NPP, NPF and others.

By Sobhapati Samom Updated: Mar 14, 2022 8:48:28 pm