NCA Set For Inter-district Senior And U-16 Tournaments - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, May 23, 2024
Nagaland Sports

NCA set for inter-district senior and U-16 tournaments

By EMN Updated: Apr 21, 2024 8:59 pm

DIMAPUR — The Nagaland Cricket Association (NCA) has announced that the Inter-District Senior Men’s (One-Day Matches) Tournament 2024 and the Boys Under-16 (Multi-Day) Inter-District Tournament 2024 will both commence in April and continue through May.

The senior men’s tournament is scheduled to be played from April 23 to May 7 at Nagaland Cricket Stadium and Sovima Cricket Ground. Similarly, the boys Under-16 tournament will take place from April 25 to May 5, according to an update.

For the first time, the Under-16 tournament will be held across three venues, spanning three districts. Peren district will host Group-A matches comprising teams from Peren, Chümoukedima, and Niuland. Group-B matches will take place in Kohima district, featuring teams from Kohima, Dimapur, and Tseminyu. Mokokchung district will serve as the venue for Group-C matches, involving teams from Mokokchung, Wokha, and Zunheboto.

The tournament will follow the multi-day format in accordance with the playing conditions set by the BCCI. The top teams from each group will advance to the next round, which will be held at the Nagaland Cricket Stadium in Sovima.

In another stride forward for Nagaland’s cricket, the Men’s Senior Inter-District Tournament will be contested in the one day format, consisting of 50 overs per side. The bottom seven teams based on past tournament records will compete in qualifying rounds among themselves. The winners of these qualifying rounds will then advance to the final rounds to face off against the top six district teams.

The qualifying rounds will feature Zunheboto, Mon, and Kiphire in Group A, while Group B will include Phek, Tseminyu, Longleng, and Peren. The winners from each qualifying group will advance to the final rounds.

In the final rounds of Group A, the teams include Mokokchung, Kohima, Dimapur, and the winner of qualifier Group A. Meanwhile, Group B will feature Niuland, Wokha, Chümoukedima, and the winner of qualifier Group B.

The players will be under surveillance and closely monitored by the selectors of the NCA. Those selected will be shortlisted and called for selection trials, as well as to attend various camps under professional coaches within the state and beyond, for the next season.

The NCA welcomed all sports enthusiasts and cricket lovers to come and witness the game.

By EMN Updated: Apr 21, 2024 8:59:52 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS