Friday, December 02, 2022

Naharol Sahitya Premee Samit distributes awards

By EMN Updated: Feb 21, 2015 10:41 pm

Our Correspondent

Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti today distributed the Thokchom Jogendra Ningshing Selgi Mana, Moirangthem Chandrashing Pandit Achouba Sanagi Medal, Telem Indubala mana and Tayengjam Jayanta Poetry Award to the award winners in a function held at JN Dance Academy hall in Imphal. The awards include a citation and a cash award of Rs 10,000 which were distributed in the function jointly organised by Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti and J N Manipur Dance Academy.Speaking at the function as chief guest, MLA and chairman Planning Development Authority T Mangibabu said it is a good sign that young writers have joined the field of literature. He also highlighted the need to translate Manipur books into English to let the world know about our culture and tradition. At the same he also admitted we need to translate the English literature to Manipuri language as well so that common people understand the stories of others.
He further stated that the need to encourage the writers by buying their books and shared their views. But most of us don’t have the habit of reading books, he lamented. If we read the books in a large scale then the writers will be encouraged.
President Naharol Sahitya Premee Samiti, Prof Polem Nabachandra also attended the function as chief guest. President and Chief Guest of the function also distributed the awards to the awardees.
Pasuram Thingnam bagged the Thokchom Jogendro Ningshing Mana while Ningthoujam Birchandra – Moirangthem Chandrasingh Pandit Achouba Gold Medal, Bhabendra Longjam recieved the Talem Indubala Award and Rajkumar Bhubonsana got Tayenjam Jayanta Poetry Award. Wangthoi Khuman who bagged the Sahitya Academy Yuva Puruskar 2014 was also felicitated in the day’s function.

By EMN Updated: Feb 21, 2015 10:41:15 pm