Nagaland Speaker Elected Chairman Of CPA India Region Zone III And NERIPSTR - Eastern Mirror
Thursday, May 16, 2024

Nagaland Speaker elected chairman of CPA India Region Zone III and NERIPSTR

By EMN Updated: May 10, 2024 9:37 pm

DIMAPUR — Speaker of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly, Sharingain Longkumer, has been elected as the new chairman of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) India Region Zone III and president of the North-East Region Institute of Parliamentary Studies and Training (NERIPSTR).

He will hold the position for a two-year term.

The election took place during the joint meetings of the executive committee and the executive council of NERIPSTR, held at the Assam Legislative Assembly in Guwahati on May 10.

According to an update, Longkumer’s nomination was proposed by the Speaker of Sikkim, Arun Kumar Upreti, and seconded by the Speaker of Tripura, Biswa Bandhu Sen.

“The house then reached to a consensus decision to elect the Hon’ble Speaker of Nagaland as the new Chairman of CPA India Region Zone III and President, NERIPSTR for the coming tenure i.e. for a period of two years,” it said.

Following the election, Longkumer expressed his gratitude for the opportunity to serve the association and acknowledged the achievements made under the outgoing Chairman, Pasang D Sona, who is also the Speaker of Arunachal Pradesh.

The Secretary, NLA will also assume the role of Secretary for CPA India Region Zone II, the update stated.

By EMN Updated: May 10, 2024 9:37:28 pm
Website Design and Website Development by TIS