Saturday, August 13, 2022

Nagaland legislators cast votes to elect India’s new President

By Reyivolü Rhakho Updated: Jul 18, 2022 11:40 pm
Neiphiu Rio casting his vote during the Presidential Election 2022 at NLA Secretariat in Kohima on Monday. (DIPR)

Our Correspondent
Kohima, July 18 (EMN):
The election for the 15th President of India was conducted successfully in Nagaland with 59 out of 60 elected members exercising their vote at the state Assembly Secretariat, Kohima on Monday.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Chairman TR Zeliang, UDA Co-Chairman Kuzholuzo Neinu, Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton, along with other legislators cast their votes in the pink ballot papers as directed by the Election Commission of India.

“Cast my vote for the Presidential Election2022 at Nagaland Legislative Assembly Secretariat,” Rio tweeted.

Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, YM Yollow Konyak, could not cast his vote on account of health reasons. Meanwhile, the two MPs of the state cast their vote at the Parliament House.

All elected 60 MLAs vote value accounts to 540 in total with each MLA vote value of nine (varies from state to state).

Assistant Returning Officer and Additional Secretary Khruohituonuo Rio informed that the presidential election 2022 was conducted successfully from 10 am to 5 pm on Monday at Nagaland Legislative Assembly. She further said the oldest sitting member, Kejong Chang, who is now 88 years old, also exercised his franchise.

Earlier, the UDA in the state had declared to unanimously support the NDA’s presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu during her visit to Nagaland ahead of the poll.

Yashwant Sinha vs Droupadi Murmu

Parliamentarians and legislators across the country voted on Monday to elect India’s 15th president, choosing between NDA nominee Droupadi Murmu and opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

The Election Commission said after the polling that over 99 per cent of the total electors — 776 MPs and 4033 elected MLAs — had cast their ballots.

The counting of votes will take place on July 21 and the next president will take oath on July 25.

By Reyivolü Rhakho Updated: Jul 18, 2022 11:40:45 pm