Monday, December 06, 2021
Nagaland Sports

Nagaland junior team lifts OneDay tri-series

By EMN Updated: Oct 29, 2013 11:59 pm


Nagaland junior cricket team created history today by defeating Bihar junior team by 28 runs in the final of the One-day Tri-series cricket, being held at Nagaland Cricket Stadium, Sovima. The participating teams are Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar and Nagaland. Winning the toss, Nagaland decided to bat. The opening pair of Bittu Shekawat and Puchu Dev put on a record partnership of 71 runs for Nagaland. The middle order batsmen Sedezhalie, Wahid and Tahmeed also contributed with the bat and Nagaland ended with a respectable score of 169 runs with 8 wickets down in 50 overs.
Bihar began their chase with confidence, but lost their first wicket with the scoreboard at 6 runs. The second wicket pair of Vebhooti and Reshav put on 64 runs to frustrate the Nagaland bowlers. At one stage, Bihar was comfortably placed at 111 for 3 wickets in 30 overs.
But a disastrous second spell of bowling by Nagaland off spinners, Tahmeed Rahman taking 3 wickets in 6 overs giving away only 10 runs put the Bihar boys off guard. Vinay joined Tahmeed to take another 3 wickets and crafted history for Nagaland team.
It may be mentioned that Bihar is one of the strongest teams among the BCCI associates and affiliated members in the East Zone.
And it may be recalled that Bihar team had already trashed Nagaland by 87 runs and Arunachal by 146 runs in the league matches of this tournament.
Earlier this year, Nagaland U-16 team also lifted the NCA North East One-day series cup defeating Manipur in the final. The umpires for the final match were Debeshree Sharma and Utpal from Assam.
Meanhwile, the Nagaland Cricket Association has thanked the Bihar and Arunachal Cricket Association for their participation. Further, the NCA has thanked the Brosid Sports of Uttar Pradesh for sponsoring the tournament, 173 BN CRPF and the match officials from Assam and all others who have helped the NCA for the successful conduct of the tournament.


Nagaland: 169 for 8 in 50 oversĀ 

Bittu – 42 runs, Puchu – 31, Wahid – 20,
Tahmeed – 15 (N.O), Sedezhalie – 17 runs.
(Sashi Anand – 3 wkts, Sourav Anand – 2 wkts,
Manmohon & Pratik – 1 wkt each)

Bihar:141 all out in 45 overs
Reshav Rakesh – 41 runs, Vibhooti – 40 runs,
Vinit – 15 runs
(Tahmeed – 3 wkts, Vinay – 3 wkts, Merenkaba,
Hidayatullah & Pradeep – 1 wkt each)

Man of the final match
Tahmeed Rahman (Nagaland)
Player of the tournament
Vibhooti Bhaskar (Bihar)

By EMN Updated: Oct 29, 2013 11:59:05 pm