Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Nagaland earns INR 81 lakh revenue from coal mining

By EMN Updated: Sep 07, 2019 12:05 am

Eastern Mirror Desk
Dimapur, Sep. 6: The Directorate of Geology and Mining has implemented the ‘Nagaland Coal Policy and Rules’; and the mining section of the department is monitoring and regulating coal mines and coal transportation in state, according to a report released by the department on Friday.

The department has been issuing Coal Prospecting License (CPL), Coal Mining Lease (CML) and Small Pocket Deposit Lease (SPDL) to individuals and parties. It has issued 27 CML and 11 SPDL so far, out of which 13 CML are currently functional, it informed. The rest of the licenses are either expired or non-functional.

Seventeen mineral check gates and some mobile check gates in all ‘conspicuous area/route’ in the state have been established; while coal transportation and royalty collection at the check gates are also being controlled and monitored, the report stated. The department issued four Coal Depot License during 2015-16 namely Singphan in Mon district, Shetap in Longleng district, Tuli and Tsutapela in Mokokchung district.

It also outsourced mineral check gates in Mokokchung district during the same period. They are Tuli gate to M/S Nagaland Emerald Enterprises, Tsutapela gate to M/S Wanye Semtech, Anaki-Kangtsung gate to M/S Manshak Phom and Shetap gate to M/S Mosa Phom, the report said.

Furthermore, the department has been collecting royalty from coal producers and transporters at INR 350 per metric ton from July 1, 2017. It informed that the department has collected INR 81,44,350 in revenue for the financial year 2018-19. (Refer table for details). Geological mapping and exploratory drilling has also been carried out in Changki Coal Block A (CCBA) in Mokokchung district, covering 7.51 km.

The government of India has banned all coal mining activities through a cabinet decision on January 7, 2019, it stated. A committee was therefore constituted to ‘examine the issue of coal mining and the resultant damages caused to the environment’, and accordingly an inspection of all coal mining sites was conducted from February 4 to the 8th.

The department has also implemented the Nagaland Minor Mineral Concession Rules (NMMCR) 2004 under which transport and transit of minor minerals are being monitored.

According to the report, royalty on minerals are being collected at five mineral check gates namely Dillai gate, New Field gate, Chumoukedima gate, Seluophe gate and Khopanala gate. The officers have carried out inspections of stone quarries in and around Hekishe village and Molvom area and proposals have been made to set up check gates to regulate the quarries in the areas.

Watiyongpang gate in Tuli sub-division and Tsutapela gate in Mangkolemba sub-division under Mokokchung district were set up and officials deployed at the gates for collection of royalty on minor minerals, it informed. However, due to issues relating to ‘double taxation’ from two departments, it has been halted until further directives from the government, it added.

Implementation of the NMMCR, 2004 has generated a total of INR 14,00,140 in revenue from Dimapur, Wokha and Mon district from April 2018 to March 2019, it stated.

The department has also been investigating mineral deposits in Kohima and Dimapur district. Minor mineral deposits identified in Kohima district are ‘ponsuka sandstone’ in Tesophenyu (Tseminyu), ‘kasha sandstone’ under Terogvunyu area (Tseminyu), ‘chathu sandstone’ in Tuophema (Chiepobozuo), slate at K Nyishunyu (Tseminyu), ‘Dzuza sandstone’ towards Khonoma-Mezoma along the Dzuzu river, and ‘Jotsoma sandstone’ deposit along Jostoma by-pass road and National Highway.

In Dimapur district, ‘Tsuuma sandstone’ deposit has been located above Tsuuma village, and ‘Pherima sandstone’ deposit about 34 km away from Dimapur town. ‘Huzhukhe sandstone’ was also found on Zubza River, along the right bank, the report informed.

By EMN Updated: Sep 07, 2019 12:05:42 am