Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Nagaland bye-election 2021 result: NDPP retains 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency

By Reyivolü Rhakho Updated: Apr 03, 2021 8:46 pm

H Chuba Chang was the lone candidate to file nomination paper to contest the 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency bye-election.

H Chuba Chang receives NDPP ticket
H Chuba Chang during the ticket distribution ceremony at NDPP headquarters, Chümoukedima in Dimapur on March 29.

Our Correspondent
Kohima, April 3 (EMN):
People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) consensus candidate H Chuba Chang, who filed his nomination for the 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency bye-election on Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) ticket, was declared the winner after deadline for withdrawal of candidature ended on Saturday.

The office of Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland confirmed this to Eastern Mirror on Saturday.

The Sub Divisional Officer (Civil) and Returning Officer of 51-Noksen A/C also confirmed about the same in an acknowledgement receipt of certificate of election, which stated that Chuba Chang was elected uncontested in the bye-election to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Former minister and civil servant, Chuba Chang, was the lone candidate from the state to file nomination papers to contest the bye-poll which was scheduled to take place on April 17.

With this win, the NDPP has retained the 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency, which was earlier held by its candidate and Minister CM Chang who passed away on October 12, 2020. The party currently has 21 MLAs in the 60-member legislative assembly, while its ally BJP has 12, Naga People’s Front (NPF) 25 and two Independents.

The Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee had earlier announced its decision not to contest the 51-Noksen Assembly Constituency bye-election and the opposition NPF too failed to field its candidate.

By Reyivolü Rhakho Updated: Apr 03, 2021 8:46:26 pm